November 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I’ve got my November wrap up today and I start panicking being so close to the end of the year. November hasn’t been too wild, but it has been mildly stressful. Maybe I set too many goals this year…

Read More »

Advertisements

#ReadersCrossing // Reading Challenge

Hey hey!

As I have mentioned multiple times, I’m behind on my 2017 reading challenge so I’m participating in my 2nd reading challenge this year: Readings Crossing.

Readers Crossing Sign Up Post.png

This challenge is an Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp inspired reading challenge with a bingo board style with 4 themed paths: Cute, Cool, Natural and Sporty. I have been playing this mobile version of Animal Crossing and I’ve been kind of addicted so it might be good to put this energy into reading.

The challenge runs until the end of the year from:

Sunday, 10th December 2017

to

Sunday, 31st December 2017.

This exciting challenge has been created by the creator of #TheReadingQuest: Aentee @ Read at Midnight. All the graphics in this post are also created by Aentee.

If this sounds like fun, you can sign up or learn more about the challenge HERE! Now to the books I’m planning to read and challenges I’m attempting to tackle…

Read More »

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I have a mighty long review for Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. Most of it is spoiler free with a spoiler section at the end. However, you may be spoiled for book #1, Lady Midnight so you may want to avoid this review until AFTER you’ve read that one. And you should definitely avoid that synopsis below. Otherwise, let’s go on!

30312891Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Series: The Dark Artifices (#2)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: May 23rd 2017 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 701
Source: Borrowed

Would you trade your soul mate for your soul?

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.


PLOT

I feel that I connected with the characters more than the overall plot arc in this novel. There were so many subplots that fitted well into the storyline. The layers gave the story sophistication and characters a great deal of depth.

Read More »

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I have a bit of a different review. In fact, I have a short, sweet review of a bind-up of novellas: The Bane Chronicles. It’s completely spoiler free, but it a couple of the stories will spoil you for The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series. So let’s jump straight in!

16303287The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Series: The Bane Chronicles (#1-11)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: November 11th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 507
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.


REVIEW

I think my different expectations for these stories ended up disappointing me a bit. Some of them were great, but it took me much too long to get through this bind-up. Overall, these were a bit of a hit or miss for me. Magnus is a super fun character and I was curious to learn more about his adventures and centuries old past. The humour was here and there, but it was a solid light-hearted read. If you’re a fan of Magnus Bane, this will be an entertaining read, but this isn’t a necessary read to understand the Shadowhunter Chronicles.

Read More »

Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

I’ve got a book review for y’all today! Book #5 of the Vampire Academy series AKA Spirit Bound. It’s completely spoiler free for this novel but there may be some spoilers for previous books in this series. I’d like to think that this is more on the shorter side in terms of my reviews so enjoy!

6479259Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead

Series: Vampire Academy (#5)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: May 18th 2010 by Penguin Razorbill
Pages: 489
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s—and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.


PLOT

I enjoyed this instalment better than its predecessor. I found Dimitri’s storyline in the previous book really frustrating so I’m glad that situation has been resolved. I felt like some of the scenes were filler and made the story a bit directionless.

Read More »

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I’ve got a review for A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas because I haven’t posted one in a VERY long time. This review has a couple of spoilers about a couple of characters (Tamlin and Rhysand) but if you don’t care, keep reading! If you’re still weighing up whether you should read this novel but want to get a feel of the book, you should probably stop reading once you get to CHARACTERS. So, these are my thoughts!!

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#2)
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Publication: May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 624
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


GENERAL THOUGHTS

Great. More territorial fae.

I was rather disappointed with this sequel and I think a majority of this was because of my huge expectations and the massive amount of hype. I have very conflicting thoughts about this book and the characters.

Read More »