The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I have a bit of a different review. In fact, I have a short, sweet review of a bind-up of novellas: The Bane Chronicles. It’s completely spoiler free, but it a couple of the stories will spoil you for The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series. So let’s jump straight in!

16303287The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Series: The Bane Chronicles (#1-11)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: November 11th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 507
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.


REVIEW

I think my different expectations for these stories ended up disappointing me a bit. Some of them were great, but it took me much too long to get through this bind-up. Overall, these were a bit of a hit or miss for me. Magnus is a super fun character and I was curious to learn more about his adventures and centuries old past. The humour was here and there, but it was a solid light-hearted read. If you’re a fan of Magnus Bane, this will be an entertaining read, but this isn’t a necessary read to understand the Shadowhunter Chronicles.

What Really Happened in Peru (#1): 2.5 stars

I found the story a tad boring. Also, I was kind of disappointed because there wasn’t really a resolution. What really happened in Peru? I’m still curious.

The Runaway Queen (#2): 3 stars

Interesting but nothing memorable. We see Magnus in France during the French Revolution being unwittingly involved in some escape shenanigans.

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale (#3): 3.5 stars

Enter the Shadowhunters with their iconic family names. The Herondales are always a fascinating family to hear about. Yes, there are scones.

The Midnight Heir (#4): 4.5 stars

So many The Infernal Devices feels!!! This story is about Tessa’s son and he’s kind of a brat. But once again, there wasn’t a resolution.

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort (#5): 3 stars

Nothing really memorable about this one but we see Magnus in his element – all the partying!

Saving Raphael Santiago (#6): 3.5 stars

The banter between Magnus and Raphael is great but I wanted more. It was nice to see how they met and the origins of their relationship.

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort (#7): 3 stars

It was alright and kinda funny, but another non-memorable story.

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) #8): 4 stars

I enjoyed this one. Fun story and great warlock banter. A demon is summoned.

The Last Stand of the New York Institute (#9): 5 stars

I thought it was super interesting to see from the perspective of the Circle in their active days. And how horrific Shadowhunters can be. It was pretty scary seeing how far people will go far with hatred.

The Course of True Love (And First Dates) (#10): 5 stars

It was adorable and hilarious. Definitely one of my favourites. So many Malec feels.

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane (#11): 3.5 stars

This one is written in voicemails and it’s a bit on the shorter side. I was so-so about this. But I love Izzy being Izzy.

3.5 stars

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What did you think of these stories about Magnus Bane? Which was your favourite? Are you a fan of companion novellas/short stories? Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson // Book Reviews

  1. I’ve only read Clare’s Infernal Devices series but Magnus was in that as well, just not a huge role. I should read The Mortal Instruments at some point because I LOVED The Infernal Devices. And then this book!

    Like

Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s