August 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

Today I’ll be wrapping up my month of August 2017. Eventful if we’re talking about reading, but nothing much else really. Also, I had an excessive haul for the month due to multiple visits to the library. Let’s begin!

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading ChallengeI am pretty happy with the amount of books I read this month considering school started up again. I read 8 books this month which brings me ever so closer to finishing my reading challenge for 2017. My goal was 80 books this year and thus far, I’ve finished 40 books (50% done).

Books


I read 6 novels and 2 short stories in August. None of these books were particularly bad or disappointing (in factor they were pretty good), so I could call it a success! I started a couple of new YA series and continued a couple.

  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)3.5 starsso this was a strange but addicting novel. I haven’t read a novel with an unreliable narrator in a while so this was a nice surprise.
  • The Witch of Duva (Grisha Trilogy, #0.5): 5 stars I absolutely loved this short story. It was an unexpected, small bundle of amazingness! How can you fit so much wordlbuilding in such a short amount of pages? Read this story to find out.
  • The Tailor (Grisha Trilogy, #1.5): 4 stars this story was told from the point of view of a character I certainly wanted to know more about. It gave much more dimension to this character and insight into their past.
  • Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil: 3 stars it’s such a shame I didn’t enjoy this as much as I wanted especially since it’s a Melina Marchetta work. It was much too convoluted for my liking and I found it difficult to stay engaged with the story.

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

Books borrowed


11408650235668961803917721187451406195517378508112357121737852716069030

TBR

(for next month)

Look at this. ANOTHER ambitious TBR for the month. My last two months have been pretty successful for me as I set some high goals for the amount of books I wanted to read and I finished almost all of them.

  • Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1): I’ve heard a lot of great things about this novel and I’ve never tried a Marissa Meyer novel so I’m super pumped to start some of her books.
  • Ruin and Rising (Grisha Trilogy, #3): this is the finale for the Grisha Trilogy and I am excited, terrified and not prepared. I really hope it doesn’t disappoint because I’ve been loving the series so far.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1): I know next to nothing about the plot of this book (my favourite way to approach a book). This will be my first Patrick Ness book and I’ve just realised this will be the first novel I’ve read from a male YA author in a very long time.

BLOG

Top posts


July 2017 recapThe reading quest 201722929578

(click on images for posts)

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

Besides being super happy about my reading progress in the month of August, there hasn’t much progress elsewhere. Falling behind on my 2017 reading challenge pretty much since the start of the year means that I’ve been playing catch-up for the longest time. Nonetheless, lately I’ve been really satisfied with the books I have read so I’m trying not to get too down about my lagging progress of the reading challenge this year.

We’re nearing the end of #TheReadingQuest 2017, and that’s been super fun! How’s everyone doing else doing on this challenge? If you want to know how I’ve been doing, I’ve been updating my progress on my Twitter account.

Book reviews have continued to fall behind specially since I like to review every book I read, and the ratio of books I read this month to the ones I’ve reviewed has been 8:0. That’s not a great proportion. I’m hoping to make the ratio less disproportionate in September as the reading challenge is nearing an end.

School hasn’t started off the best this semester because you guessed it, I’m sort of falling behind. (You can see a common theme). So yep, I definitely have a problem with procrastination. (And a minor addiction to TV shows). So on that note, what type of entertainment have I been wasting my time on this month?

I binged my way through Marvel’s The Defenders which means I’m finally up to date with the MCU. So, I decided to start a new catch-up game with a different universe: the DC universe. If I spent this time on actual work, my productivity levels would be sky-high.

Anyway, my quote of the month for August is from my favourite read of the month. It’s not particularly meaningful, but I just really liked it…

“So shut the window tight and make sure the latch is fastened. Dark things have a way of slipping in through narrow spaces.”

– The Witch of Duva, Leigh Bardugo

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

How has your August been? Do you have any exciting plans for September? If you have any advice for me about productivity, please share! And lastly, what have you been reading/watching? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “August 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. Congrats on a great reading month! I really, really need to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, especially since it’s becoming a movie pretty soon. Happy September!

    Like

Leave a reply

