June 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

June was not a very fun month because it was the exam period for me. Not a lot of reading or blogging was done, but hopefully that’ll improve in July. Short version: I was a pretty unproductive turnip. Now let’s get into it!

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading ChallengeI feel that I’m being super repetitive in my monthly wrap ups when it comes to my reading challenge section. Once again, I have not caught up with (not even close). As of the end of June, I’ve read 25 of my goal of 80 books. That’s 31% and it’s already halfway through the year *sweating intensifies*.

Books


Nope, that single bullet point is not a mistake. I only read 1 book in the month of June and it took me a while to finish it. Not because I hated it, but something always turned up that I had to do.

  • Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)3.5 stars this wasn’t a bad read, but I took much longer than usual to finish a Richelle Mead book. This was probably partly due to my choice of starting a book right before my exams began. I liked this book better than its predecessor but it didn’t quite hit the mark.

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

Books bought


35499494

Books borrowed


1630328730312891

TBR

(for next month)

I’m on holidays in July so I’m hoping for a lot of catch-up reading to happen. Maybe my TBR is too ambitious but I’m pumped and hopeful.

  • Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2): I’ve been waiting until the end of exams to read this because I didn’t want any disruptions. One of my most anticipated releases of 2017, so please don’t let me down.
  • Power Study (Study, #3.5): I’m making my way through this series steadily. My feelings about it are a bit conflicted because I loved the first novel but my feelings have become less intensely positive further in. I love Yelena and her sass (amongst other things), but the storylines have become more convoluted and less interesting.
  • Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6): THE FINALE!! I’m excited about finishing this series – 6 books are a lot. I have enjoyed this series more than thought I would, especially my view on vampires. This could be due to my tiny, misguided bias against vampires thanks to a very popular, but widely criticised vampire series.
  • Shadow and Bone (Grisha Trilogy, #1): and thus begins the beginning of me tackling popular series that I haven’t started. 2 things I know about this series: it’s set in the Grishaverse and it’s a fantasy series. Look at my avoiding spoilers. Impressed?
  • Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1): 4 things I know about this series: Juliet is the protagonist, she’s got a deadly touch, love triangle, and lots of angst.
  • The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1): I’m actually super confused and what this series about and I’m okay with that. There are ghosts, I think??? I’m grasping at straws.

BLOG

Top posts



May 2017 recap

(click on images for posts)

There weren’t a lot of posts to choose from being my “top posts” considering I only posted 2.

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

I’ve been spending a lot of June binging all things Marvel Cinematic Universe. I may have gone through 2 seasons of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. within a week. All the betrayals and everything hurts. In fact, next on the list is Captain America: Civil War. I imagine that this movie is just going to be a whole lot of emotional pain.

I am free from exams so YAY!!! As I said at the start of the post, I’m hoping get back to a regular blog post schedule and do a hella amount of reading. My library haul is probably going to be huge in July. I’m hoping that some of these books I read will end up being favourites or 5 star reads. Also, I’m hoping to catch-up with my book reviews. I’m currently 10 books behind and that doesn’t feel great.

However, I made carrot cake and that was great.

I might get back on my social medias too. I might learn something new. Because I’m a spontaneous daredevil. Please detect the sarcasm.

Considering I only read 1 book in June, I don’t have many choices for my favourite quote of the month. In fact, I can’t think of any ones that stand out so no quote this month.

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What was the best book you read in June? What’s next on your TBR? Any exciting releases in July? Comment below!

Leave a reply

