Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

I’ve been making some progress with my 2017 reread of the Harry Potter series and today, I have my review of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. This review is mostly spoiler free with a spoiler section at the end if you want to know may feelings about the ending. Let’s begin!

43509Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Series: Harry Potter (#4)
Genre: Fantasy
Publication: 8 July 2000 by Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 636
Source: Bought
5 stars

The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can’t wait for the start of the school year. It is his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and there are spells to be learnt and (unluckily) Potions and Divination lessons to be attended. But Harry can’t know that the atmosphere is darkening around him, and his worst enemy is preparing a fate that it seems will be inescapable …With characteristic wit, fast-paced humour and marvellous emotional depth, J.K. Rowling has proved herself yet again to be a master story-teller.


GENERAL THOUGHTS

As much as I love tournaments and dangerous competitions, I didn’t enjoy this instalment as much as the other books the FIRST-TIME round. This was my first reread of this book, I enjoyed it so much more this time.

PLOT

In this book, we get to see the hardcore competition that is the Triwizard Tornament. It’s such an awesome yet ridiculous idea, and I love it. These are teens facing dragons, mazes (possibly drowning) so the danger is super high. In fact, it’s canon that people have actually died from this competition. We have the iconic…

 harry potter scared sharon osbourne dumbledore the talk GIF

[Dumbledore] asked calmly.

#iconic

However, between the intense tasks of the Triwizard tournament, there were some scenes that felt more filler than important to the plot. We get a ball scene (which I always love). Full of awkwardness and some passive-aggressive romantic tensions.

The foreshadowing in amazing in this novel. Hints here and there that makes you let out that breath you didn’t know you were holding.

That ending. THAT ending. The intensity. The betrayal. It all killed me. All the endings from the last three books have been semi-happy or at least hopeful but prepare to get your heart shredded. This solemn kind of ending hit me so hard. Just when you think it ends, BOOM – there’s more.

WORLDBUILDING/SETTING

The opening of this novel starts at the Quidditch World Cup and mate, that was a phenomenal match. I absolutely felt I was there (and disappointed when I realised I wasn’t). Magical school is awesome (as always which I mention in every single HP book review). I loved how we got to explore more of the magical world on an international scale. Some of that government corruption creeps in and the descent of the ministry begins. This book brings to light a minuscule amount of horror that Voldemort inflicted onto the world, and his full power. He’s a truly evil and terrifying character.

CHARACTERS

There are so many new characters are creature I love. You would have thought that the trio would have figured out that Voldemort always attacked at the end of the school year (looking at your Hermione).

I found that there was a huge sense of maturity for the trio in this novel. But the boys can be so dense and delusional sometimes. Puberty hitting the golden trio so hard – all the crushes and awkwardness were great amongst the madness and excitement. I loved seeing Harry grow and use his brain. We still get some of those idiotic decisions, but I’m going to let that slide because then that wouldn’t be Harry. For all the abuse he faces at school, he likes Hogwarts waaay too much. On a random sidenote, Harry asking everything to move is hilarious.

Ron is definitely more than just the funny sidekick, but I loved his humour so much. We get a very bitter Ron, and quite some conflict between Ron and Harry. I’m was actually happy that we got to see Ron express his jealousy. He’s always been in the shadows of his family and then his best friend, the famous Harry Potter where he’s often seen as a sidekick. He wants some attention sometimes and that’s fine. Usually, I’m NOT a fan of the jealous types because often it’s on matters that are quite unreasonable, but I could sympathise with his experience.

Reason #385 of why Hermione is the best: The Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare AKA S.P.E.W. I love how in every Harry Potter novel, Hermione doesn’t stop everyone she’s doing for Harry and she has her secret missions each year. Yes, they’re best friends but she’s passionate about other things and Voldy ain’t gonna stop her ambition. She gets on with life whilst helping Harry and I think that’s awesome. I love the politics in the books and Hermione’s agenda was so inspiring.

Hints of romances have begun to spring up here and there. We get a little of that Romione angst.

The Weasley family gets a massive amount of page time in this novel and I love them so much. Their family dynamic always makes me so happy no matter whether it’s the twin’ mischief or family drama. Except you, Percy you brown-noser. We get to know more about the family, especially Bill (who is awesome might I add – yes you go defend your hair).  We get to see the starting stages Fred and George’s business, Weasley Wheezes. Tell me again that the twins aren’t ambitious. I love the strong themes of family in all the HP books, extending beyond blood relations. The way the Weasleys recognise that Harry is a boy in need of love and acceptance, and care for him as though he were part of the family. And then when they were there supporting Harry in the third task of the tournament – so many feels.

Neville my poor child. We get to learn more about Neville’s past and there’s this ONE scene that gets me every time. You know, that one in the first DADA class. And then piling the trauma he faces each year by abusive Snape. And being treated like trash by some classmates. I can’t.

I’ve never appreciated how determined Draco Malfoy is in ruining Harry’s life. He has such dramatic and elaborate plans to destroy Harry. I’ve only very recently realised how smart Draco is. His “Potter stinks” badges and worsen in insults when attempted to be fixed. I don’t know how complicated this magic is but this effort, mate. Also, Draco shouting across the Great Hall to taunt Harry is the greatest thing to imagine because Gryffindor and Slytherin’s tables are on completely opposite sides of the hall. Just thinking about how loud Draco would have to be to project his voice and catch Harry’s attention. Also, the traditional “Draco stalks Harry in the Hogwarts express” each year is too funny.

Also, can I get some Madame Pomfrey appreciation? That woman is a background champion. And she’s pretty much the only person who questions all the unnecessary dangers that happen around the school. She mends without projecting suspicion and cares so much for all the students.

And once again, we meet another DADA teacher: Professor Moody. CONSTANT VIGILANCE.

A Hufflepuff gets a substantial amount of attention: Cedric Diggory. Cedric is GREAT. I’m not even  Hufflepuff but I’m so proud that he’s a Hufflepuff. So true and noble. I actually love the fact that a Hufflepuff was chosen as THE Hogwarts champion. There are so many values of the other houses that would be great for this tournament, but no, a Hufflepuff was chosen. It’s amazing and YAY for Hufflepuff representation. Can I say Hufflepuff any more times?

With the arrival of the other magical schools, we get some new characters. And no one introduces as many characters as well as Rowling. And I genuinely felt for all the characters despite the sheer number there are. Brooding Viktor Krum broods. A lot. I didn’t have any intense feelings towards him. He’s alright. I found Fleur Delacour quite annoying. I wasn’t really a fan of her in this book.

I cannot stand Rita Skeeter.

WRITING STYLE

I can’t express how amazing the writing. There is some overkill at times with the massive descriptions of each scene, but I can’t help but immerse myself in the story.

– – – – – – – – – – – – SPOILERS AHEAD! – – – – – – – – – – – –

3… 2… 1…

The foreshadowing

Voldemort’s foreshadowing of Wormtail giving his right arm. That was a good one. Also, Voldemort can make a new hand for Wormtail, but wizards and witches still need to wear glasses? I’m sure there’s an explanation but hmmm.

The ending

The Crouch and Death Eaters plot was executed SO well. I knew polyjuice potion would come back to haunt us. Reasons why you shouldn’t name your son after yourself: imposters and being severely let down. The graveyard scene had me in a mess. I was petrified. You could argue that Voldemort could have returned/killed Harry in an easier way, but everyone knows that he’s a drama queen. But anyway, he’s baaaaaack! Backtracking a bit: I’ve always wondered how people watched the third task in the maze because I’m pretty sure they couldn’t see the competition. If so, what was the actual entertainment.

The characters

I feel so bad for Harry and what he’s goes through with everything culminating at the end. I didn’t fully appreciate his grief and how traumatic the experience would be seeing a classmate die. Also, that betrayal would have made it even worse.

Hermione trapping Rita in a jar in her beetle form shows how capable she is. She’s not just some goody two shoes. This is the evil I love.

I FEEL SO CHEATED AND BETRAYED by Moody or shall I say Barty Crouch Jr. Rowling does so well making the readers empathise with the characters. “Moody’s” mentoring relationship with Harry really grew on me, only to find that the whole thing was fake.

“Kill the spare.”

And the waterworks began. Anticipating Cedric’s death almost made me cry, especially getting to know his character again. And his actual death hit me harder in this book than my first read.

I love the fact that Rita’s animagus form is a beetle. Suits her personality.

– – – – – – – – – – – – END OF SPOILERS! – – – – – – – – – – – –

I love how unpredictable this series is. Honestly, every revelation is mind-blowing but never underdeveloped or unfounded. You can look back at all the little hints and appreciate how well-crafted they were. I find in a plot of books, many plot twists come out of nowhere so the cleverness isn’t quite there. BUT this series does it so well!

I definitely recommend reading this book first before watching the movie (if you’re intending to). Reading on and on into this book made me realise how much less I like the move adaptation. I’ve realised how many good scenes and subplots they’ve cut out. Also, a lot of the atmosphere of this book was taken away in the adaptation. Honestly, who needs visual entertainment when you can get books like this. There’s such a great balance of humour, relatable, and dark plots. I wanted to cry and scream at the end of this book, it was so good. So, if that’s what you look for in a book, highly recommend this one. I love this series so much.

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a look at how they treat their inferiors.”

5 stars

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What are your favourite thing about this book? How much of a mess were you by the end? Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling // Book Reviews

  1. YES! <3 <3 Seeing all of your Harry Potter reviews just makes me feel nostalgic and want to reread the series. Looking forward to seeing what you think of the next one!

    Like

    • YAY thanks Zoe!! I’m actually nearing the end of my reread of the series and I have this serious urge to reread it again because it’s been so good! It’s been interesting to see how my thoughts have changed. So much nostalgia :D

      Like

Leave a reply

