May 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I’ve had a pretty busy month in terms of school, but I’m surprised with the amount of books I read and blog posts I got up. I’m trying to ramble less (which is pretty much impossible for me) so let’s get right into it!

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading Challenge

So after the month of May, I’ve managed to reach 24 of 80 books for this year (30%). I’m still behind schedule by quite a lot hahaha…ha *sobbing commences*. I think I’ve somewhat given up actively tried to catch up and just read when I felt like it. I still have hope that I’ll eventually reach my goal for the year. We still have the other half of the year so we’ll see!

Books


I’m fairly happy with the books I read in May. I read a total of 5 books – 1 being a reread and another being an essay (shhh I’m not cheating). Also, this is a monumental month because I have FINALLY rated a 5 star read this year (not counting my Harry Potter series rereads). It has been so frustrating this year books just missing those 5 stars. In fact, my first 5 star read this year is a non-fiction… essay. YA fiction needs to raise their game. Or I need to make better decisions ahem. Anyway…

  • Fire Study (Study, #3)3 stars my first read of the month was a tad disappointing. I’m starting to make a dent in this series and as interesting as this world and the characters are, this book felt really messy. I just couldn’t follow along. However, these sassy characters give me life.
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6): [REREAD] 5 stars it’s Harry Potter. It’s fantastic. Is this really a surprise. I had so many more emotions than I was expecting and THAT ending killed me.
  • Bad Blood (The Naturals, #4): 4 stars I finally bit the bullet and finished this series – one of my favourite series ever! As a book, I really enjoyed this book but as a finale, it didn’t quite have that punch. I really wish this series was extended because it’s so fun and creepy.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2): 3.5 stars I was severely underwhelmed with this novel and I don’t think I’ll be continuing on with this series. I don’t even like the fictional world anymore and I think that really says something about my feelings. Better than its predecessor but I didn’t find it was phenomenal as everyone claims.
  • We Should All Be Feminists: 5 stars this was such a quick and powerful read. I was struggling whether or not to give it 5 stars but I honestly couldn’t any faults. My only “complaint” is that it was too short and I wanted more. BUT I’m pretty sure its concise writing was what made it so effective. It was engaging, relatable, educational, and a MUST READ FOR EVERYONE! I have a review HERE.

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

I tried not to be too ambitious in May so I borrowed 2 books and 1 ebook from the library.

Books borrowed


26073150647925923301805

TBR

(for next month)

I’ve been struggling to stick with my monthly TBRs but I still like that sense of “organisation”. I’ve noticed that I’ve been quite repetitive in my TBRs because I keep transferring what I don’t read to the next month. I’m trying not to plan too many reads in June because I’m going to be a busy lass. For June, I’m planning to read these books:

  • Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5): Vampire angst and all that fun. I think this book has been on and off my TBR for about 3 months *nervous laughter*. I going to try really hard to make sure it doesn’t extend to 4 months.
  • The Bane Chronicles: another transfer from last month’s TBR. I am fascinated by Magnus Bane so hopefully, this will be an entertaining read.
  • Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2): this is one of my most anticipated reads this year. Luckily, I haven’t been spoiled yet. All I know is that I will be a mess by the end. I’m SUPER excited to start this!!

BLOG

Top posts


30254923April 2017 recap224912

(click on images for posts)

It’s no surprise that my most popular posts were book reviews since those were my most of my posts.

BOOKISH NEWS

I don’t have much bookish news this month, mostly because I’ve been very absent on social media. In fact, I probably need someone to tell me what has been happening in the bookish world.

LIFE UPDATE

In May, I got obsessed with a YouTube segment called Buzzfeed Unsolved. These videos surround unsolved cases (duh) which are so interesting, and the guys who are in these videos are hilarious. I may have binged the whole series. Speaking of obsessively viewing entertainment, I binged the Anne with an E Netflix series which is based on the Anne Shirley seres by L.M. Montgomery. I love the 1980s mini-series adaptations and I couldn’t help comparing them. I was wary of this series but I actually really enjoyed it.

I have a busy month ahead of me because it’s exam time. It’s not going to be fun. So, my blogging schedule won’t be consistent for this month, and they’re probably going to be book reviews since I have a lot to write and I find them the easiest to write. Still trying to balance the blogging thing with the studying thing. The only good thing is that after exams, HOLIDAYS!! The winter holidays are coming up (Australia) and I’m already longing to be snuggled up with a book and a hot drink.

I’m excited for the second half of the year because I’ll be starting new series and !!! I’ve dedicated the first half to finishing series because I don’t like having unfinished series. I’m that type of person. Although there were a couple of series I quit and we’re just going to ignore that there will always be some abandoned series. I’m going to tackle so many big series so I will no longer need to avoid spoilers and finally form opinions.

I’ve only read ONE 2017 release and I feel as though I’m missing out on the excitement surrounding these releases since I’m focusing on finishing older series. I guess that’s another factor in why I haven’t been very interactive on social media.

Now let’s end this post with a quote from a book (essay?) I read in May that I think is quite powerful. Something to keep in mind…

“Culture does not make people. People make culture.”

– We Should All Be Feminist, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

How was your May? What was the best book you read? Any exciting plans in June? Comment below!

5 thoughts on “May 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Leave a reply

