Olivia Decoded by Vivi Barnes // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Oh look! I have another post this week. Another book review because this is a pretty short one. Anyway, I have a spoiler free review for Olivia Decoded, the sequel for the Olivia Twisted series. I don’t have many thoughts so let’s get straight into it!

28220969Olivia Decoded by Vivi Barnes

Series: Olivia Twisted (#2)
Genre: Mystery
Publication: September 6th 2016 by Entangled: Teen
Pages: 320
Source: Borrowed

This isn’t my Jack, who once looked at me like I was his world. The guy who’s occupied the better part of my mind for eight months.

This is Z, criminal hacker with a twisted agenda and an arsenal full of anger.

I’ve spent the past year trying to get my life on track. New school. New friends. New attitude. But old flames die hard, and one look at Jack—the hacker who enlisted me into his life and his hacking ring, stole my heart, and then left me—and every memory, every moment, every feeling comes rushing back. But Jack’s not the only one who’s resurfaced in my life. And if I can’t break through Z’s defenses and reach the old Jack, someone will get hurt…or worse.


PLOT

I’m really conflicted about this book because although I found myself engaged to the mystery, I was annoyed at the plot and the characters. I missed the hacking in the first book. It wasn’t great in my opinion but hacking is hardly explored in YA so it was different. The storyline in this book is creepy but it wasn’t as unnerving as I would have liked.

There are actually quite a lot of different ideas explored in this book. It’s surprising considering how small the book is. We got some action, romance, a smidgen of family and friendship. Although the feel of the book seems easy and simple, you can’t ignore the serious side to it. I liked the inclusion of “darker” themes which were unexpected.

CHARACTERS

I really do feel sorry for the protagonist, Olivia. She went through so much and had a rough past. I do admire her resilience but there was just something that irritated me about her. Jack is still a character i’m not that fond of. I don’t like the way that he thinks about or treats females. I really enjoyed the introduction of the new character, Emerson (AKA the best friend). I think she had that perfect balance of concern and understanding for Olivia who would obviously keep some things hidden.

There was less romance in this novel but the angst was definitely there. I don’t always see angst as a bad thing but I spent plenty of time rolling my eyes. I couldn’t feel any chemistry between Olivia and Jack and unnecessary relationship drama made me facepalm. Repeatedly. I need common sense in characters.


I was disappointed with the ending. The book seemed to be escalating to something big but I found the ending predictable. This wasn’t a particularly memorable book. I got bored and thought what’s the point of continuing a lot of the time. My motivation for reading this sequel was basically to finish this series. Also it’s a pretty short novel. However, I still find this to be a unique series because I’ve never read anything like it.

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What did you think of the book? Are you a fan of teen angst or relationship drama?Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate

Leave a reply

