April 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

Happy May everyone! In April, I read more books than I expected and getting more organised so WIN!! Not having the pressure to constantly have a new post ready has definitely been helpful. Although, will say that my blog is still on a semi-hiatus. But for now, let’s wrap up my month of April.

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading ChallengeOf my 2017 challenge of reading 80 books this year, I’ve read 19 (24%) but I’m still 7 books behind schedule. To be honest, I don’t know whether I’m falling further behind or keeping up with my… behindness. Although to make me feel better, a lot of the books I have read have been pretty big ones. I’m trying not to stress too much.

Books


I gobbled up 5 books in April – 2 in which were rereads. This is foreign territory for me because I hardly reread (and I’m not being sarcastic). My unread books glare at me when I reread so I kind of feel guilty rereading a book when I could be discovering a masterpiece. I still have not read a new 5 star book thus far and it’s getting more frustrating each month. Anyway…

  • The Dark Days Pact (Lady Helen, #2):4 stars this was such a weird and fun read about demons and recency England. You know, the typical stuff. I noticed like the first book, the pacing was still slow. It takes a while for the action to kick in but when it did, good times.
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)[REREAD]5 stars as I’ve probably mentioned before, I’m rereading the Harry Potter series this year and it’s been awesome. The thing with such a clever series is you notice new things no matter how many times you’ve reread them. This is a massive book but surprisingly, it didn’t take me long to get through. If you haven’t picked up this series, I highly recommend you do very soon.
  • Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5):3 stars argh I don’t know how I feel about this series anymore. Everything I’ve loved about it (AKA “the trilogy”) is getting thrown into the wild and then regularly stomped on my a herd of elephants. Will I continue the series being so close to the end? I honestly don’t know.
  • Spies and Prejudice: [REREAD] 3.5 stars this was a super random reread. I felt like a spy book. Thus I picked this one up. It was fun. A tad cringe but it’s fine.
  • Alexander Hamilton:3.5 stars I have been reading this monster for 4 months. Surprisingly, that’s not the longest it has taken me to finish a book. But it has over 700 pages and it is non-fiction which it not what usually what I go for. A very new reading experience for me.

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

Are you proud? I’m starting to control my book acquiring problem.

Books borrowed


1966969

TBR

(for next month)

I’m getting close to the end of my TBR of books I want to finish before starting new series and I’m so excited! This is just a personal preference, but I like to finish series (if I can) before starting new ones. It gives me the illusion that I am in control of my TBR. Spoiler: I’m not.

  • We Should All Be Feminists: I’ve heard great things about this piece of non-fiction which I believe is an essay about feminism. I don’t usually read non-fiction (or essays really) for enjoyment but this piece has me intrigued.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2): ah, another SJM book. I wasn’t really a fan of the first book in this series but I’ve heard mostly phenomenal things about the second book so I’ll give this series another shot even if I don’t like how the first book ended.
  • The Bane Chronicles: prepping for the release of Lord of Shadows, I’m going back into the Shadow world. I don’r looooove Magnus the way many people do, but I did like his character so I think this series of short stories about him will give me some more insight into his history. It’s the shadow world. What more can I say?
  • Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5): I’m nearing the end of this series and although book #4 was a bit of a miss for me, Richelle Mead endings always makes me want to continue on. Things are still seeming tragic but I’m very interested as to how the ~problem~ is sorted out.

BLOG

Top posts


2464481428954123

(click on images for posts)

I posted my first DNF review (Swarm) and a lot of you actually liked it? How?!? Also I reviewed See How They Run a very long time ago so that’s a bit of a #throwback.

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

If you know from my March wrap up, my blog has been on a semi-hiatus to sort out my life and stuff. If you want to know about that, I wrote a blog post. I’ve been trying to chill with my rapid consumption of TV shows and movies. I was somewhat successful. On the blog, I’ve been mostly posting book reviews because I find them the easiest (although the longest) to write and I really need to catch up on my reviewing game. I currently have 11 books to review and I’m slightly stressing.

On a happier note, I made pancakes. And now I want pancakes. Also, I discovered Tasty on Buzzfeed and spend too much time watching those mini recipe videos while my mouth waters.

I had mini mid-semester break in April which gave me some time to sleep in between trying to get work done and flapping around in distress as the end of the week neared. Fun times.

I am low-key panicking at it’s close to being halfway through the year and I have achieved… nothing. Anyway, let’s end with  great bookish quote or shall I say, a great bookish conversation.

“Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?”
“Yes.”
“You called her a liar?”
“Yes.”
“You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?”
“Yes.”
“Have a biscuit, Potter.”

– Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, J.K. Rowling (Minerva McGonnagall  & Harry Potter)

(If I was Harry, my biggest accomplishment that I would share to the world be deserving a biscuit from the queen McGonnagall)

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

Whatcha get up to in April? Do you have an exciting bookish news? Read some good books? Procrastinate so much that it became an achievement? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “April 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. YES TO REREADING HARRY POTTER! You’ve reminded me that I’m due for my reread. :) It sounds like you’ve had a great month, so thank you sharing your recap! <3

    Like

  2. wow – that sounds like a very full on April – but yay for making pancakes :) And I know what you mean about Empire of Storms, I’m still a few chapters short of the end but I definitely haven’t enjoyed it as much as I did the others. All the best for next month :)

    Like

Leave a reply

