February 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I have continued to have a mediocre reading month. I am yet to read a 5 star book this year. Please project good books in my direction. Also I’m struggling with keeping up my book reviews. Anyway, let’s start up this wrap up!

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading ChallengeSo far I’ve read 10 books out of my goal of 80 books (13%). Well actually it’s more like 10 book I attempted to read. Because I have a DNF. My first of the year and it was unexpected. I’m sad. And angry. Sangry?? According to Goodreads, I’m still 2 books behind schedule so from the reading disaster that was January, it’s getting better.

Books


I read a total of 6 books in which 1 of them was a REREAD and 1 was a DNF. Unfortunately, I’m still behind on reviewing so excuse the lack of them. They will come.

  • The Long Game (The Fixer, #2)4.5 stars this is such a thrilling and intense sequel to The Fixer. The murder. The betrayal. I need more books from this series.
  • Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4): 3.5 stars I have to say I didn’t enjoy this book as much as its predecessor and I’m very wary for the direction this series is going. I am not liking the relationships and ~specific~ characters.
  • Swarm (Zeroes, #2): [DNF] 1.5 stars I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book of this series but the concept of these superheroes was too good not to give it another go. But nope. It’s not for me.
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2): [REREAD]5 stars at some point this year, I decided that I wanted to reread the Harry Potter series. It’s still awesome and I’m having so much fun.
  • Take the Key and Lock Her Up (Embassy Row, #3)3 stars another series I finished this month which was a tad disappointing. This series hasn’t been as amazing as other Ally Carter books and I just expected more.
  • Olivia Decoded (Olivia Twisted, #2)3 stars I’m super conflicted about this book because I expected mystery and instead I got romance and angst. Yet I couldn’t stop reading it???

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

Books borrowed


2895412330254923

TBR

(for next month)

I’m attempting to be less ambitious in terms of reading in March because I have not met any of my monthly TBRs but there are so many books I want to read and the struggle is too real.

  • Learning to Play Gin (Cheating at Solitaire, #2): just finishing a duology. The first book was entertaining enough for me to continue.
  • Lusus Naturae (Lady Helen, #1.5): this is a novella from Lord Carlston’s perspective from a scene in the first book. In preparation for reading the sequel!
  • Bad Blood (The Naturals, #4): I’ve continued to put off reading this finale ever since its release because I love this series and I’m so scared as to how it’ll end. If you’re looking for a good crime, mystery thriller, I highly recommend this series.
  • Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5): look at how close I’m getting to the end of this series!! VA#4 was not that great in my opinion but the Dimitri situation is stressing me out and I need answers.
  • The Dark Days Pact (Lady Helen, #2): I really enjoyed the first book in this series. There’s regency England, demons and tentacles and it’s strangely glorious.

BLOG

Top posts


(click on images for posts)

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

Classes started up in February and crying because my timetable is horrible. Fitting in solid chunks of reading time is hard. Also blogging. What is life?? Speaking of blogging, I had my best stats for this blog this month so thanks to everyone who has visited my blog!

So I was madly scheduling in February and rapidly bullet journalling. There were some times that I considered giving it up but I figured if I stopped worrying about how pretty it looked, it worked so much better for me. I still enjoy making it neat but minimalism for the win!

I finished a lot of sequels/series this month. In fact, I’ve only started ONE series this year. ONE! Look at that self-restraint. I think I’m somewhat ~starting~ to control my TBR (that’s probably a joke) and finishing all this sequels means I’ll be starting new series and feel less obligated to read particular books.

I didn’t start any new TV shows in February and I think that deserves an applause itself.

I’ve decided to exclude rereads from my quote of the month otherwise every time is just going to be a Harry Potter one – this series is just so quote-worthy. My favourite comes from the iconic dialogue that exists in The Long Game.

“Does that mean that you’re actually okay, or that you’re stoically projecting that you will be okay at some undefined point in the future?”

– The Long Game, Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Vivvie)

Stoically projecting – bwahaha. Talk about relevance.

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

So what shenanigans did you get up to in February? What books did you read and acquire? Any recommendations of mind-blowingly, fabulous books? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “February 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. Aww…I’m sorry you’re in a bit of a reading slump right now. :( I’m in one right now as well, so I definitely sympathize. Hopefully March will be a better reading month for you. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous recap! <3

    Like

    • I know right?!? I can’t believe that it has been 20 years since the first HP book came into existence in this world. Yes I feel a lot of people are quite conflicted about the ADOSOM adaptation news because they don’t feel that it can do it justice. I hope you had a good reading month Jessica!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

