10 YA book series to start in 2017 // Recommendations

Hey hey!

Today I’m going to be listing the YA series I want to start in 2017. I am always late to any trend and take a long time to get around to the iconic books of YA fiction, so I plan to start many this year so I don’t have to run away from all the imminent spoilers that circulate this earth. Also, then I don’t have to mumble something about not even starting the series every time someone asks of my opinion of these books.

OLD RELEASES

(click on individual images for Goodreads pages)

These are aren’t in any particular order. I just enjoy lists!

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series by Ransom Riggs


94604872316498324120519

Give me all the creepy. I’ve heard mostly good things about this series so hopefully I have the same experience.

2. Maya Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin


114086501364356715768409

And more creepy. I’m beginning to see strange trend… I literally know nothing about the actual plot of this series because it seems super confusing. But I’m still very interested since I’ve heard great things about this series and how unique it is!

3. The Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo


101941571406195514061957

I can’t believe I haven’t read a Leigh Bardugo book before because from what I’ve heard, they would definitely appeal to me. The genre, the world, the plots. So I’ll start at the very beginning, a very good place to start (high five for anyone who got that reference).

4. The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer


11235712132067601320682813206900

I think this series is the mother of YA retellings or at least one of the first popular ones. I think I’ve said this before, but I initially dismissed this series because I didn’t think it was that interesting. Hopefully I am proved wrong.

5. The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater


17675462173473891737850817378527

This is a series I don’t know too much about except ghosts and boys and that’s really all I know. I have not read a single Maggie Stiefvater book so I don’t know what to expect in terms of her writing style either.

6. Daughter of Smoke & Bone series by Laini Taylor


84901121281255013618440

I’m very intrigued by these books but I’m also mildly intimidated because they are BIG books. These titles sound interesting and hopefully I get to figure out what they mean when I read the books.

7. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski


160690302044320720443235

I feel that a lot of people low-key love this series but I’ve hardly ever heard anyone rave about it. I’m a little grey about the details of the plot but sometimes it’s fun to just jump in.

8. The Wrath and the Dawn series by Renée Ahdieh


1879898323308084

This actually a more recent series and you’re not mistaken – it is a duology. This is also a retelling, of A Thousand and One Nights and I am so ready for all the foodie goodness. YAY for diverse books!

9. The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken


105763651615083016150831

I don’t know how much this series will appeal to me now that I’m out of my dystopian craze phrase but I’ve heard many great things about this series. Also it’s being adapted into a movie so of course i need to read the books first.

10. Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi


134557821310408013188676

There have been mixed feelings about this series mainly because of the style of writing. I’ve been told it’s quite flowery and full of metaphors. In the past, I haven’t found this type of writing tiring or annoying so I don’t think this will be a problem for me.

That’s all I have for today. Have a great weekend!

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What old releases are you thinking about starting this year? Comment below!

11 thoughts on “10 YA book series to start in 2017 // Recommendations

  1. Miss periguins, the winners curse and the wrath and the dawn are all on my list for this year (in fact wn are all on my list for this year (in fact that last one is on my list for next week). I’m also normally late for things so any of the sarah j mass books, the series of unfortunate events, and this savage song are also on my list.

    Like

  2. The Mara Dyer & Grisha trilogies are among my faves of all time & ofc you already know I fell in love with The Darkest Minds earlier this month ;) I also really enjoyed The Winner’s Crime trilogy – it’s SUPER political & I love Kestrel bc she’s not your typical kickass fantasy heroine. AND OMG THE RAVEN CYCLE. I *WILL* GET TO IT THIS YEAR.

    Like

  3. I’ve been wanting to start so many of the series you have listed here! I wasn’t a huge fan of the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series or the Shatter Me series (or, what I read of it), but they were entertaining reads- mostly just not my type of series. I LOVE The Lunar Chronicles! Good luck starting all these series! I look forward to hearing your thoughts! :)

    Like

  4. I’m looking forward to reading The Grisha Series. I went a bit backwards and read Six of Crows before I read the Grisha series (because I didn’t realise the books had a prequel series) so I’m dying to go back and read about all the things I didn’t understand in Six of Crows. Besides that, I want to give Shatter Me a go as well.
    Good luck getting through these books! (BTW Darkest Minds and The Lunar Chronicles are awesome! You’re gonna love them)

    Like

Leave a reply

