January 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I’ve got my first wrap for 2017 for y’all today. Spoiler alert: it’s not a great start. So yay, starting off the year on an unproductive note. How swell.

READ

Reading challenge


2017 Reading ChallengeI read 4 books for the first month of this year although one of them was a reread. I don’t know whether I should count the reread as part of my reading challenge because it’s not added on Goodreads. Do you think rereads should add to reading challenges? I’m just going to count new reads as part of my challenge for now. So far, I’ve read 3 of 80 books I intend to read in 2017. That’s 4% and it’s not a good start. Oh the shame.

Books


(I know like all the reviews are missing. I’m severely behind reviewing books right now.)

HAUL

(click on images for Goodreads pages)

Books bought


27424547

Books borrowed


16130260730725686462822096918006496

TBR

BLOG

Top posts


worst-books-2016shadowhunters-s1e122929578

(click on images for posts)

You fiends seem to enjoy my negative posts.  Who needs happiness anyway right???

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

I watched an enormous amount of television in January which really affected my lack of reading. I started and caught up on Sherlock which is amazing, why didn’t I start earlier? But I hear I need to wait another century until the next season comes out??? I also started watching Daredevil which is absolutely fantastic. I was hesitant to start it but I shouldn’t have. Those fight scenes are phenomenal. I thoroughly enjoy the way they are filmed. And one more: I started Criminal Minds. Yes the 12 season TV show that doesn’t seem like it’s going to end any time soon. It sounds extremely strange to say that I enjoy the show considering what it’s about, but I do.

I’ve decided to start bullet journalling this year. I did sort of try it last year which I gave up almost immediately. But know that I’ve figured what doesn’t work for me, I willing to give it a proper go. Pinterest has been a big help.

Nothing particularly exciting happened to me in January though that’s why I spend most of my time on the internet. This month, I’m hoping to read much more than I did in January and hopefully, these are good books too.

If I’m reading Harry Potter, my favourite quote from that month is bound to be from HP. There are too many to choose from gahhh…

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

– Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, J.K. Rowling (Albus Dumbledore)

That quote tears me up every time.

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What shenanigans did you get up to in January? Any great books to start off the year? Also do you think I split up my wrap up posts because I feel as though it’s too long? Comment below!

9 thoughts on “January 2017 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. First, I think re-reads should definitely count! You’re reading an entire book, after all, no matter if you’ve already read it before.
    Also, I’ve read the Maze Runner trilogy but have yet to read the prequels. The series was a bit… Meh. So I’m not particularly excited to try the other books. I was curious about the same things as you, which were never properly explained, but I see the series has yet again failed at addressing them so I’m even less inclined to try it now.
    Good luck with bullet journalling! :) I never tried myself but it looks quite complex.

    Like

    • I guess that logic does make sense with rereads. Yeah The Maze Runner series just continued to go down for me after the first book and the prequels were’t that great either. I reckon if you want answers, the original trilogy is enough. I”m trying to make bullet journalling more simpler because it was the complexities that stressed me more than it helped.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for letting me know! I just thought the ending was absolute crap… Dashner’s writing didn’t help, either. It was one eyesore after another.
        I hope you find a method that works for you! I’m always fascinated by everyone’s bullet journals, they always look so clean and artistic. I’m not very patient so I probably would not be able to do anything with it hahaha
        I did get into the planners craze a few months back but totally gave up. It’s just too time consuming and I ended up being more concerned about the aesthetics of it than actually planning or organizing anything…

        Like

        • Yeah I’ve realised as further into the series I got, the more I didn’t like the writing… yet I still persisted???

          Some people are just so artistic but I’ll never be able to reach that level. Haha I’m still obsessed with planners. I just hope I’m organising more than decorating…

          Liked by 1 person

        • I love cute things… So, yeah, I loved the whole planner thing xD But I also get bored with stuff fast, which can be a good or a bad thing.
          Oh, don’t worry, you’re not the only one! With certain books I’m just like “AAAARRRGHHHH” throughout the entire reading process hahaha
          I always ask myself why do I go through it and never really get an answer…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha the ACOTAR series is a bit overrated for me – if you didn’t enjoy the first book, wait til you see Feyre’s character development in the 2nd book :/ Awww, Cassandra’s interview was very respectful towards the director of Shadowhunter but I can tell it breaks her heart. I mean, I’m just a reader & the way the show has progressed has kinda wrecked me, so I can only imagine how hard it must be for her!

    Like

    • I see so many people rave about the ACOTAR series especially the second book so I’m going to give it a chance but now I’m not so sure. Yes I completely agree with you about the Shadowhunters show.Although I believe the second season has gotten better, I don’t agree with a lot of the decisions they make.

      Like

Leave a reply

