Blood Promise by Richelle Mead // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

I’ve got my review for Blood Promise by Richelle Mead. This is going to be a spoiler free review for THIS book but you will be spoiled from previous books in the series if you haven’t read them. I do recommend this series. It’s lot of fun so if by chance you haven’t read the first 3 books, go do that then come back and we can discuss all the things!

5996153Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

Series: Vampire Academy (#4)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: August 25th 2009 by Penguin Razorbill
Pages: 503
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Rose Hathaway’s life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters … Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?


GENERAL THOUGHTS

I was so excited about reading this book after the thrill of the previous one, I’m completely let down. This book was more emotionally-based rather than plot-driven and expansive like Shadow Kiss. So this could be a case of it’s me, not you. Although it was an emotional read, I couldn’t fully immerse myself in the story and even the plot itself seemed a bit detached.

PLOT

The beginning was slow and it didn’t seem to pick up until the very end. I don’t know if it’s only me, but I thought that this book was sort of reminiscent of book #2, Frostbite. Without spoiling anything, I’m talking about the ending of Frostbite. Well, I didn’t enjoy it so much in this book.

The actions were great. They were epic and stressful as usual.

I’ve said this in all my Vampire Academy series book reviews but it’s only because it’s complete true: Richelle Mead is phenomenal at writing endings. I had such mixed emotions – I didn’t know what I was thinking, what I was feeling. Her endings surprise me every time. And when you think it’s done, it’s not. The whole last part of the book was so intense and I genuinely felt stress for the characters. Also the twists; they’re excellent. How did I not see that coming (high five for anyone who actually knows what I’m talking about)?

WORLDBUILDING/SETTING

Most of this book takes place in Russia following Rose’s journey. The rest of it was with Lissa who’s still at the academy. I’m sorry but I really didn’t care about her situation. I could definitely tell the differences between when we were in the U.S. and Russia and it was fun while it lasted.

CHARACTERS

Rose and her sass are still pretty strong and very much enjoy her dark humour. It was really emotional when she was talking about Dimitri. There were a lot of times where I was frustrated with her character and I just couldn’t understand what she was hoping to accomplish. Her fighting spirit was pretty low and I just wanted to scream at her to do something. This was especially aggravating during the middle part of the novel and it went on and on and it seemed like she had given up. I couldn’t fully get to the same emotional understanding as her and it infuriated me to see her like that. She’s in a daze for the longest time. Get yourself together gurl. Putting that aside, I love love love her dialogue (except for that long interlude of weirdness). Her snark gives me life. Something I dislike about Rose is her slut shaming. I don’t know if I’m the only person who’s thinking this but the way she talks about blood whores just irks me. It’s been 4 books – it’s a bit ridiculous by this stage.

Lissa is still getting on my nerves. She still acts selfish and as though the whole world revolves around her. As the series has progressed, I’ve felt myself getting more annoyed at the way she treats people, what she expects and her character in general.

Adrian was actually pretty okay in this novel. I was not the biggest fan of him but I admire his concern for Rose. I know Rose says she’s going to give him a chance, but we all know that realistically she isn’t going to give him a proper chance. And I kind of feel sorry for him.

Dimitri was super creepy in this novel and made me so uncomfortable. We all know by this time that Dimitri is a Strigoi and however devastating that is in destroying his relationship with Rose, I kinda found him to be irritating after awhile. At what point Dimitri comes into the picture in this book, I will not say but I was anticipating the moment they would meet. It was false alarm at every turn and when they FINALLY meet, I enjoyed that moment so much. The stuff afterwards though… I was not a fan. Also he was pretty dumb in this book and I couldn’t relate to his reasoning… of… stuff. I think the Rose and Dimitri “scenes” dragged on way too long for my liking.

We are introduced to many new characters but one that caught my attention was Sydney Sage. I’ve been hearing about her because she’s the protagonist in the spin-off series, the Bloodlines series. I just didn’t expect her so soon. A peculiar irritation I had with her was the fact that she never ate her food. It’s such a small thing but that annoyed me so much. Such a waste of food. Now I’m thinking about food. Now I’m hungry. Anyway… I do hope to see more of her in the future.

Another individual newbie introduced in this book is Avery Lazar who’s chilling at the school with Lissa. So as you can imagine, major internal drama for Rose with all them jealousy vibes. I found her annoying and a major nuisance most of the time. Like go away, you’re not wanted.

The Belikov household appears for a good portion of the first part of the novel and they were so adorable. I really enjoyed the scene where they had a wake for Dimitri and they all sat around sharing stories about him.

We meet a couple which I can’t say much about without spoiling. I will say that they had a very interesting relationship and I really liked them. Extremely useful and we get more info about basic stuff we know #sophisicatedsentencing.

Abe is so annoying.

WRITING STYLE/PACING

The story is told in different styles. We have present Rose, flashback Rose and Lissa through Rose. Not confusing at all. I really enjoyed the flashback sequences where Rose would think about her memories with Dimitri. It felt like it was exclusive content revealed and stories were great. I wasn’t really interested in Lissa’s story and what was happening at the academy. But then again, Rose wasn’t in the best state and her ~adventures~ were strange. There’s too much recap at the start of these books and a lot of the time throughout the book. Rose’s summarising is useful but it’s getting a little tedious. Especially with the reminders of the basics of this world and types of vampires which I think is unnecessary by this stage. The pacing was too slow for the majority of the novel and it just seemed like it continued to drag on.

I’m still very interested as to where the next book will go, although I’m keeping lower expectations and I hope it’ll improve!
3.5 stars

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

LET’S CHAT

What were your feelings on this novel? Thoughts about Strigoi Dimitri? Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate – for more details, you can read my Disclosure HERE.

4 thoughts on “Blood Promise by Richelle Mead // Book Reviews

  1. I read this series years ago and really enjoyed it as a whole – however I do recall this book being slower in action. Although I remember enjoying the end, since each book always left me thirsting for more. Nice review!

    Like

  2. Book confession here: I have never read ANYTHING from Richelle Mead! I’ve heard AMAZING things about the Vampire Academy series, but just never have had the urge to actually pick them up and read them. IDK, maybe this year’ll be different, good review though!

    Like

Leave a reply

