A year in review: 2016 edition // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

It’s late, I know but I still want to continue my series of 2016 wrap ups. Today post is going to be my 2016 year in review which is ridiculous amount of recapping:

  • All the books READ in 2016
  • Reading STATISTICS because they’re cool
  • BLOGGING stuff as a newbie in 2016
  • FAVOURITES and obsessions founded in 2016
  • Other GENERAL life stuff of 2016 because ~occasionally~, my life isn’t buried in books

READ

I read 64 books in 2016 so here are all of them with their Goodreads summaries and reviews for the books I have reviewed thus far.

January


22571275
All Fall Down (Embassy Row, #1)
25689512
Hired Bride (Beaufort Brides, #1)
20696482
Thief (The Academy, #1)
33724
Can You Keep a Secret?
15812814
Crossed (Matched, #2)
8659601
The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies, #2)

February


855483
The Lost Honour of Katharina Blum
12146593
Rivals in the City (The Agency, #4)
17343436
Olivia Twisted (Olivia Twisted, #1)
345627
Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)

March


15820748
The Prince (The Selection, #0.5)
22917292
The Favorite (The Selection, #2.6)
22544764
Uprooted
24940563
On the Bridge (The Infernal Devices, #0.5)
Blank 133x176
After the Bridge (The Infernal Devices, #3.3)
18335634
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)
7864437
The Death Cure (The Maze Runner, #3)
12878132
Thomas’s First Memory of the Flare (The Maze Runner, #2.5)
8933944
Harry Potter: The Prequel (Harry Potter, #0.5)
1618
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
28954137
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, #1-10)
18171434
The Girl in the Yellow Vest

April


24885636
Zeroes (Zeroes, #1)
15993203
The Dark Days Club (Lady Helen, #1)
13149420
Quicksilver (Ultraviolet, #2)
2282133
Frostbite (Vampire Academy, #2)

May


25494343
Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)
18271698
Classified Material (Gallagher Girls, #4.5)
24722065
Before the Fall: Arrival (Embassy Row, #0.5)
24916833
Down Outback Roads (Outback Dust, #2)

24903917
Velvet Undercover [REVIEW]
27905505
Hamilton: The Revolution [REVIEW]
 

June


12996
Othello [REVIEW]
13089710
The Kill Order  (The Maze Runner, #0.5) [REVIEW]
 

July


26074181
The Crown (The Selection, #5) [REVIEW]
17860199
The World of Divergent: The Path to Allegiant (Divergent, #2.5) [REVIEW]
1265703
Magic Study (Study, #2) [REVIEW]
12971616
The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies, #3) [REVIEW]
 

6664200
Frankenstein [REVIEW]
18243700
The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-0.5) [REVIEW]
 

August


29058155
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child [REVIEW]
24644814
See How They Run (Embassy Row, #2) [REVIEW]
18780192
The Reflections of Queen Snow White [REVIEW]
17167166
Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) [REVIEW]
15768191
Sweet Peril (The Sweet Series, #2) [REVIEW]
 

September


7965962
One More Little Problem (Zelah Green, #2) [REVIEW]
19305796
Operation Valentine [REVIEW]
4450057
Assassin Study (Study, #1.5) [REVIEW]
13260426
Maid of Secrets (Maids of Honor, #1) [REVIEW]
 

25083817
Soon (Once, #5) [REVIEW]
20613470
Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) [REVIEW]

October


7241945
The Princess Trap (Scandia, #2) [REVIEW]
23513365
A Family for Christmas (Willow Park, #3) [REVIEW]
15861491
The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies, #4) [REVIEW]
 

November


8805112
The Queen’s Lady (The Lacey Chronicles, #2) [REVIEW]
12923321
The Girl is Trouble (The Girl is Murder, #2) [REVIEW]
2802316
Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3) [REVIEW]
17934520
Going Rogue (Also Known As, #2) [REVIEW]

December


10964
Outlander (Outlander, #1) [REVIEW]
25698127
Yellow [REVIEW]
32877734
The Grift of the Magi (Heist Society, #3.5) [REVIEW]

22929578
The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)
5996153
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)
15742484
Double Digit (Digit, #2)

STATISTICS

1. Totals


64 books
19 474 pages
12 finished series

2. Lengths


Shortest book:

On the Bridge by Cassandra Clare

249405632 pages

Longest book:

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

10964896 pages

4. Average rating


3.5 stars
3.3 stars

5. Most popular genre


SCIENCE FICTION

I’m always claiming that fantasy is my most favourite genre EVER so it was a surprise for me too when I was looking at my stats that my most read genre was science fiction.

BLOGGING

I started this bookish blog at the very end of May 2016 so basically June which probably wasn’t the smartest decision at the time as things were pretty hectic. BUT, I’ve been going back and forth trying to decide whether I should start one or not for the longest time and I knew that if I didn’t start, it would become very delayed and perhaps never happen. I haven’t been the most engaged with my blogging with many things going on, but I’m aiming to get more into it this year. It’s been a fun and simultaneously (at times) stressful experience and I’m definitely going to continue!

I loved entering the online bookish community which has changed the way I approach reading, educated me and encouraged me to question some of my stances on important issues. There has been highs and lows in this community throughout the year (blah blah blah drama and controversy everywhere) but honestly, I think the DISCUSSIONS have been insightful and important conversations. I think it’s a bit of an injustice to call it “just drama”. It just shows how dynamic and adaptable the YA book community can be as well as well as the nasty side of it – the reality of people.

Top posts


#LoveOzYA: Aussie YA Blog Hop // Blog Hop

aussie-ya-blog-hop-banner

I actually really enjoyed writing this post. It was my first blog hop and I’m so glad I decided to join. What’s better than talking and appreciating all about Aussie YA books? I answer a couple of questions about my favourite Aussie YA books and discovered so many interesting books visiting other blogs. Blog post link up :D

Top 5 Book series where I only liked the FIRST book // Friday Five

First only

This was one of my first blog posts and the title is pretty self-explanatory. I list my favourite first books of the series. The key word being first. Basically I personally believe the rest of these series aren’t quite up to the standard as the amazing first book and introduction to these worlds! Linky thing above!

The Kill Order by James Dashner // Book Reviews

Image result for the kill order book cover

This was one of my first book review posts and surprisingly, my more ~negative~ posts get more views. “Positive vibes only” – sure. This book is a prequel to The Maze Runner series, which follows a different group of characters to the ones in the trilogy and I was not the biggest fan. The review isn’t completely negative, but fairly critical being the person that I am.

FAVOURITES

1. Blogs


Since I was just talking about blogging, let’s continue! I’ve come across many book blogs this year, many of which inspired me to actually start my book blog. These are all book blogs that predominantly feature young adult books. So here are some of my favourite discoveries:

Cait @ Paper Fury

Cait is the fabulous blogging queen who inspired me to start a book blog and I’ve been following her ever since! The fury part of her blog definitely stays true as she is a ferociously puts out a range of hilarious and quality bookish and writing posts.

Adalyn @ Glittering Reads

Adalyn is one of my fellow newbie book bloggers who like me, shares a mutual love for books and Hamilton. Her discussions are always interesting and I especially love her Top Ten Tuesdays. You won’t ever get bored with her posts!

Ellie @ Capitol Books

Ellie is an awesome book blogger who has a variety of blog posts. From book tags to reviews, they’re all great. You can always find some interesting upcoming releases on her blog – my TBR always expands when I read her blog posts!

Zoe @ Stories on Stage

Zoe is an amazing blogger who mainly posts book reviews. I love how succinct and critical her reviews are. They’re SO well written and if anyone can convince you to read a book, it’s Zoe! Indecisive about whether to read a book? Go to Zoe’s reviews!

Jeann, Jenna and Aila @ Happy Indulgence

They are a wonderful gang of people that cover all bases when it comes to books!  I always get jealous of their bookish shenanigans and you’ll find plenty of recommendations of diverse reads and Aussie YA books! I’ve discovered so many excellent books from following this blog so you should definitely check it out!

2. Books


I did write a whole post on my favourite books in specific categories with my Book awards: 2016 edition but I though I might list a few that were my overall favourite reads of 2016 (psst! All my thoughts and their synopses can be found in that above post).

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Yellow by Megan Jacobson

25698127
REVIEW

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

18335634

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeremy McCarter

26200563
REVIEW

Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson

13149420

3. Movies & TV


2016 truly was the year of catch up: I caught up on my regular TV shows and gave into the pressure of the internet, watching hyped movies/TV shows as well as some classics. I struggled to find my favourite movies of 2016 unlike my TV shows as I find I enjoy their format over the former. I’m not a critic or expert on movies or TV shows so these are just ones that I personally enjoyed and I’m not really saying whether they’re good or not. This list of favourites only include the ones that I started this year and thus:

Movies:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Image result for the force awakens

(and basically the whole Star Wars saga)

This was release in 2015 but I didn’t end up watching this movie until halfway through 2016 on exam break. In fact, I binged the whole series in that weekend and it was awesome. I watched the first released movie (A New Hope) a while back but I never continued the series for some reason. But I’m so glad that I did and I feel like there’s a whole new side of the fandom that has opened up for me.

Vulture.com star wars trailer the force awakens

(dat shooting face tho)

Zootopia

Image result for zootopia

I was actually really reluctant about watching this one – I judge by covers, okay?!? However, after all the hype and recommendations from friends and family, I succumbed to peer pressure and watched it! I enjoyed this movie SO much. The humour, the characters, the messages – it was all great.

zootopia fist bump

Good Will Hunting

Image result for good will hunting

Calling all my mathy fiends – this is a must watch for you! I love this movie title more than the average person (you’ll get it when you watch it).

Dead Poets Society

Image result for dead poets society movie

Look at me watching all these classic dramas! There as so many iconic quotes from this movie. The ending though… and Robin Williams.

tv dead poets society

TV:

Gilmore Girls

Image result for gilmore girls countdown poster

(original series and revival)

Believe it or not, I watched Gilmore Girls for the first time in 2016. In fact, I never really heard of it until people were buzzing about the revival.  I binged it and it was awesome! The relationship dynamics are so unique and surprisingly, and for the most part, it was enjoyable drama as opposed to eye-rolling drama). The dialogue is absolutely fantastic. I love it so much. Paris Geller is my hero. And then the revival – so much nostalgia even though I watched those series months apart. The ending though hmmm… was not the biggest fan.

How to Get Away with Murder

Image result for how to get away with murder poster

I’m a bit iffy as to whether HTGAWM is a favourite of mine. I loved the first season, but the second season still good but third season is getting a bit tiring. I really felt for the characters and the emotion and stress was SO real!

Jessica Jones

Image result for jessica jones cover

I made the mistake of watching Jessica Jones before Doctor Who and I am somewhat scarred and unsettled. Watching Doctor Who like *Kilgrave alert*. This show got way more darker than I expected and felt more like a psychological thriller than a superhero series. It did feel like it dragged the plot a bit longer than necessary at times. I loved the protagonist, Jessica Jones (of course) who’s a sardonic private detective battling PTSD with awesome strength (pun definitely intended).

Agent Carter

AgentCarter2HrPromo

I enjoyed this short-lived TV show so much and I’m absolutely devastated that it’s been cancelled. Historical fiction, mystery, action, espionage, tough and intelligent female characters punching sexism in the face – this show was calling my name.  Peggy – one of my favourite female leads, and Dottie gotta love her too. Jarvis was hilarious is his own way. I’m gonna stop listing all the characters now. Season 1 was amazing and season 2 was less amazing.

4. Other


This other category is purely for the sake of talking about Hamilton. One of my favourite discoveries EVER, the brilliance that is:

Hamilton: An American Musical

Related image

This musical is a high-key obsession of mine. I discovered it in March 2016 and I’ve been obsessed with everything surrounding it ever since. I kid you not; the only music I listened to for 6 months was the Hamilton soundtrack. For a long long time, my life was consumed by it. All I would talk about, all I would think about, and finding every new piece of information as soon as possible. I am so desperate to see it live but the album alone is pure magic. The Hamilton references will destroy your life in the best way possible.

LIFE

I had such a busy year, school-wise. Assessments and exams basically consumed all my time, I was struggling to keep up with my reading goal. I admit I might have cheated a bit reading a lot of novellas… hush it still counts. I joined in with the ~delights~ of social media this year getting on Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and Tumblr. I still don’t know what I’m doing on the last two. Correction: I still don’t know what I’m doing on any of this sites. I got Netflix, hence the numerous amount of TV and movies I watched (and procrastination). I went on a holiday with my friends this year which was so fun and felt super independent. Well done for you if you’ve made it to the end. i hope you enjoyed at least some part of this post. I hope everyone has a great year!

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

What was your 2016 like? Highlights and favourites or new obsessions? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “A year in review: 2016 edition // Wrap Ups

    • Zeroes sounded SO COOL and I thought I would love it. Are there aren’t many superhero books out there or at least from what I’ve seen. Unfortunately I loved the concept of it rather than the actual execution. The powers were awesome but I couldn’t really connect with the characters (there are 6 main characters who are also narrators). It’s a very action based book which was really fun but the depth just isn’t there. It wasn’t bad but I found it a bit disappointing. Let me know if you pick it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh gosh there’s so much here! Great job meeting your reading goal despire schoolwork! I struggle with that one ALL the time! I LOVE GILMORE GIRLS! And Good Will Hunting and the Dead Poet’s Society! My 2016 was a bit more tame- reading wise at least. I started my sophomore year of college and have been overwhelmed with school and personal responsibilities, so blogging has been at an all time low (great band, btw) for me.

    I look forward to reading more posts from you this year!

    Like

    • Haha yeah I was considering splitting this blog post into 2 parts but lots of it are pictures. Trying to balance reading and schoolwork is so difficult sometimes. Also since I blog now, I feel as though I need to regularly read. I just suck at prioritising as well. Yes I haven’t met anyone who’s actually watched and hated Gilmore Girls. I hope your workload gets more manageable this year! Good luck with reading and blogging :D

      Like

Leave a reply

