December 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

This is going to be a pretty short wrap up of all things bookish in the last month of 2016 because I have a bunch of other wrap up posts for 2016. Let’s begin!

READ

Reading challenge

2016 Reading Challenge

I’ve completed my reading challenge!! In 2016, I read 64 out of my goal of 60 books (107%) *happy dance*.

Best book

25698127
5 stars
Yellow by Megan Jacobson
Let me drag all your eyes to this beauty. Phenomenal writing and excellent characterisation. I really emotional read with powerful messages. Oh also it’s an Aussie YA book. My glorious review can be found HERE.

Worst book

15742484
1 star
Double Digit by Annabel Monaghan
I didn’t connect with the characters in the story and the tone of the writing felt juvenile for me. Review will hopefully be up in the near future.

Disappointment/surprise

5996153
3.5 stars
Blood Promise by Richelle Mead
After the previous book in the series, I had such high hopes for this instalment. I still have faith that the next book will be amazing because this one ends with a promising premise. All my thoughts will be up in a review soon.

Other books

  • Outlander (Outlander, #1)4 stars  of course I’ve heard all the hype surrounding this book and peer pressure made me read this. I have many conflicting thoughts surrounding this gigantic novel. You can find my review HERE.
  • The Grift of the Magi (Heist Society, #3.5):4.5 stars been needing some clever heists in my life again so this novella was a lovely surprise to the Christmas season. I zoomed through it and it was an awesome addition to the already amazing series! I’m still hoping that Heist Society #4 is a legit project. I have a review HERE.
  • The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)4 stars a friend has been recommending me this novel for the longest time and I’m so glad I got around to it. It’s rare to find politically centred YA books so I’m so happy this exists. This mystery thriller will keep you on your toes all the way to the end. My full review will be up soon!

I had an awesome reading month to finish off the year and I hope this theme continues into 2017.

HAUL

Books bought

  • Harry Potter box set (Harry Potter Series, #1-7): I was gifted this for Christmas and this is the definition of true beauty. Did I shamelessly hint that this is what I wanted? Yeah bro. Don’t worry – there will be plenty of pictures in the future ;)

Books borrowed

As you can see, I went a bit book crazy in the library. I might have abused my online requesting book privileges. But you can’t take it away from me!

TBR

Hopefully I read more books but these are the books I definitely want to finish in January!

BOOKISH NEWS

  • Lots of Shadowhunters TV news! We have some exclusive pics of season 2 (although it’s not really that exclusive anymore because I’m late and it has already premiered) whoops. Apparently it is “going back to it’s roots” which I really hope is the reality. Season 1 wasn’t great in my opinion. I splurge all my feelings in my recaps: part 1 & part 2. Also let me know if you want me to (A) continue these reviews/recaps/discussions, (B) limit them to season premieres and finales OR (C) stop.
  • More adaptation news for Nicola Yoon’s books. Her new release The Sun Is Also A Star has been acquired to adapt into a movie (I think?).

LIFE UPDATE

I started watching Once Upon a Time in December and I liked the first season or so, but my interest has been slowly deteriorating and I don’t know whether I’m going to continue. Why doesn’t anyone die ever?!? Also in TV shows, I started and finished Agent Carter and I’m so sad that it has been cancelled. Also, why did it take so long to come into my existence this wonderful gem. Watch it. I’ve been watching so much TV since the start of the holidays… and I wonder why I never get any reading done. Total mystery.

Christmas was so nice. We had all the family over and there was plenty of food and gift giving. I’m was fortunate to acquire some beautiful new books that I can’t wait to read (and pet).

I’m thinking of learning a new language. I’ve been wanting to ever since I stopped French in high school but I’ve never really given much thought. We’ll see how my schedule holds up.

December was a pretty chill month for me, especially in comparison to my jam-packed, stress-filled year. I got a lot more reading done than I usually do and although 6 books doesn’t seem like much to some people, I’m pretty proud of myself.

There were so many great quotes to choose from the books I read this month – so much sass, hilarity and inspo. But I can’t get past this amazing quote from this awesome novel…

“Do not define me by my gender or my socio-economic status, Noah Willis. Do not tell me who I am and do not tell me who society thinks I am and then put me in that box and expect me to stay there. Because, I swear to God, I will climb the hell out of that box and I will take that box you’ve just put me in and I will use that box to smash your face in until you’re nothing more than a freckly, bloodied pulp. You got that, sweet cheeks?”

– Yellow, Megan Jacobson (Willow)

Hello 2017 and Happy New Year everyone (let’s hope it truly is)!

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

What were your exciting happenings in December 2016? Did you have a good end to the year? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “December 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. Woo woo! Congrats on your reading challenge! *dances* Yellow looks like such a beautiful book, but I have no clue what it’s actually about. Ooh, I hope you like ACOTAR, too. That series is one of my favorites! I started the Hamilton biography back in October and I’m just barely over halfway. I feel bad because I haven’t really picked it up at all in the last month.

    Like

    • Thanks Adalyn :D I literally can’t stop staring at the cover of Yellow. I really hope ACOTAR lives up to its hype. Haha I didn’t realise how long the Hamilton biography was until I loaned it out from the library. It’s probably going to take me a long time too considering I hardly, correction: never read biographies. I hope you get through it eventually if it’s worth it!!

      Like

Leave a reply

