November 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I had a pretty meh reading month in November reading 4 books overall with a range of ratings. I refuse to believe the first half of November exists because those days were filled with exams. But I’m glad that books entered my life again for the rest of the month.

READ

Reading challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
58 of 60 books read. 97% done. I was hoping to complete my reading challenge in November and it pains me to see how close I was. But I’m definitely confident that I will complete by the end of the year!

Best book

2802316
4.5 stars
Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead
I’m offically hooked on the Vampire Academy series because of this book which is the third installment. This was such a heartbreaking read and hit me right in the feels. I’ve never been disappointed in a Richelle Mead ending and this was no different. I’m exploding. My review will be up soon.

Worst book

8805112
2.5 stars
The Queen’s Lady by Eve Edwards
This book didn’t live up to my enjoyment reading the first book of the series. Focusing on a new set of main characters and a different romance, it often felt disjointed and resolved too quickly. My review can be found HERE.

Disappointment/surprise

12923321
3.5 stars
The Girl is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines
This was a much more intense read than its predecessor and I thoroughly enjoyed the first half. It necame a bit messy towards the end but so many twists and turns. All my thoughts can be found in my REVIEW.

Other books

  • Going Rogue (Also Known As, #2): 3 stars this was a fun and quick read that escaped the high school environment from the first book, having established relationships. I’m not ultimately satisfied with the ending but the banter and funny dialogue kept me entertained. Full review HERE.

HAUL

Books bought

I didn’t buy any books this month. Applause for my self-restraint.

Books borrowed

TBR

I’m not going to have a TBR for December because I’m feeling spontaneous and I’ll just see what books come into my possession and become read.

BOOKISH NEWS

LIFE UPDATE

My final exams of the year are finished and yes I was exhausted. As soon as I finished them, I can say a heavy part of my time was spent on Netflix and catching up on all the shows. I also went on a little holiday at the end of the month and it was so great to have a change in scene.

YAY the holiday season has arrived!! I love seeing all the festivities and we all know this is the time where book acquisition reaches its peaks. I’m very excited. I hope everyone gets to spend time with close ones and have a wonderful time. As always, I’ll end with my favourite quote of the month which is from Shadow Kiss:

“Throughout history, people with new ideas—who think differently and try to change things—have always been called troublemakers.”

– Shadow Kiss, Richelle Mead

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

Anyone going on a holiday this holiday season? What did you get up to in November? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “November 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. You’re so close to you goal! Eeek! :) I always get excited when I see other people have finished or are getting close to finishing their reading goals, or just any goal in general. I haven’t read any of the books on here, but I love the cover for Lord of Shadows and ACOWAR is making me so excited but also freaked out. If the book has WAR in the acronym, that can never be a good sign, right?

    Like

    • Yes the Lord of Shadows over is so beautiful and I’m so glad that the covers in the series are matching. Haha WAR is never a good sign to see in a book title or its acronym. I haven’t even started that series yet, but I still feel excited for people. This logic????

      Like

Leave a reply

