The Girl is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

I’ve got a review for the sequel of The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines so if you haven’t read the first book, it might be a good idea to read that before you jump into this review. However, this is a spoiler free review so if you haven’t read this book, you can still read on!

12923321The Girl is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines

Series: The Girl is Murder (#2)
Genres: Historical fiction, Mystery
Publication: July 3rd 2012 by Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 336
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Iris Anderson and her father have finally come to an understanding. Iris is allowed to help out at her Pop’s detective agency as long as she follows his rules and learns from his technique. But when Iris uncovers details about her mother’s supposed suicide, suddenly Iris is thrown headfirst into her most intense and personal case yet.


REVIEW

I found myself enjoying most of the book for the first half. However the quickened pace towards the end made me lose interest a bit as the scenes were short and uneventful. There were many turns in this novel that left me gobsmacked and others that were predictable. I felt the suspense and danger were very much present throughout the novel however, I felt the resolution was too fast.Most of the novel centres around the mystery surrounding the death of Iris’ mother and in comes the “fake suicide” trope. All the red herrings. The other part of the novel was based on investigating the anti-semitic attacks and threats in a school environment. It was horrific to see the abuse faced by the Jewish students and this investigation took a very sharp turn. I can say I was partially shocked about the outcome.

The prevalence of the anti-semitism evident in this world greatly disturbed me and it really got to me. The school kids are so mean and insensitive – the constant Pearl Harbor comments were beyond the scale of inappropriateness.

Iris has definitely matured in this novel, making more sensible decisions and less rash behaviour. That sort of backtracked when her determination reverted her to less extreme impulsiveness. She’s not the greatest detective, but I admire her perseverance and desire for truth. In fact, I enjoyed finding more out about her best friend Pearl who is probably a better detective than Iris. I don’t know whether this is just me but I found that these 15 year olds were given way too much freedom and it didn’t seem realistic. I adored Mrs Mrozenski and just the way she speaks – you can’t find much fault in her. We have a some romance in this novel which I can’t say I particularly enjoyed, though it didn’t take over the main storyline.

I found myself getting through this novel quicker than its predecessor as the events and writing flowed. Overall, an interesting historical mystery novel that definitely gave some insight into the cruelty of the 1940s and its heavier aspects.

I have a spoilery version of this review on my Goodreads which can be found HERE. Have a great day and let me know your thoughts on this novel if you’ve read it!

3.5 stars

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

Are you a fan of historical mysteries? Do you have a time period that you’re especially horrified by? Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate – for more details, you can read my Disclosure HERE.

Leave a reply

