October 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

Hey hey!

I’m still here. We’re already a little into November but I haven’t had time to write my October recap until now. Blogging has been a bit in the back of my mind because despite my procrastination problem, I can prioritise… to an extent. So let’s get onto the bookish happenings (or lack of) in my life for October where I shall attempt to explain the absence of blog posts.

READ

Reading challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
I’ve read 54 out of my challenge of 60 books and just seeing that 90% completion on my profile just looks so aestically pleasing. You don’t want to be in my brain. So anyway, I’m 4 books ahead schedule and if I overachieve in November I might be able to complete it!

Best book

15861491
4 stars
The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore
This book was a jolly awesome surprise with an amazing improvement in characters and the plot in general. I still feel this 7 BOOK SERIES is a tad too dragged out for my liking because I still found nothing much progressed in all 355 pages. There was a conflict and suprise here and there, but it’s not enough for a whole novel. I’m not saying that much about this book because this is book #4 and I’ll be spoiling the first few books. I do however have a review for this book (which is spoiler free) HERE.

Worst book

7241945
1 star
The Princess Trap by Kirsten Boie
My first read of the month and let’s just say it wasn’t the best. I read the first book of this duology many years ago and my only motivation of licking it up because I wanted to finish the series. So I will say it wasn’t completely the book’s fault for my lack of enjoyment. I think my tastes have changed and I found this book rather boring. Also the characters seemed childish and I it put me into a semi-reading slump. My somewhat complete thoughts can be found in my REVIEW.

Disappointment/surprise

23513365
2.5 stars
A Family for Christmas by Noelle Adams
I was procrastinating and shamelessly browsing in the free ebooks section of the iBooks store when I came across this little novella. Yes on occassion I download one of those light and shallow  for whatever my reason is. This time, I was on a verge of a reading slump and needed to read something quick and I clicked on this one. It was actually quite different to what I was expecting (although I don’t really know what I was expecting). It was predictable but I found it entertaining enough that it wasn’t bad. A mini review HERE.

HAUL

Books bought

Orphan Black meets Inception: Two formerly conjoined sisters are ensnared in a murderous plot involving psychoactive drugs, shared dreaming, organized crime, and a sinister cult.

One night Tila stumbles home, terrified and covered in blood.

It had me at Orphan Black meets Inception.

Books borrowed

TBR

I don’t think I’ll be reading at all for the first week or so of November because you know the answer: exams, but I’m hoping to finish these books in the remaining weeks!

  • Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3): I was slightly disappointed by the last book except the ending. Richelle Mead writes REALLY good endings. Also, there is a high chance that I’ve forgotten what happened even though I read it this year. Ahem.
  • Going Rogue (Also Known As, #2): I picked up the first book in this series when I was in my spy craze phase and found most of it entertaining.I’m still a sucker for a good spy book. Blame Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series.
  • Winter White (Belles, #2): annnd I picked up this series when I was into Gossip Girl (the TV series). Another hopefully entertaining read. I’m not expecting anything great but it could surprise me.
  • Yellow: I’ve been dying to read this book this year because (A) it’s pretty cover has been staring at me all year (B) Aussie author and (C) everyone’s been gushing and nothing less, so I think it’s safe to say I’m super excited for this read. The MC of this book is a 14 year old which is younger than I usually read but I’ve heard people actually enjoy her voice so we’ll see!

BOOKISH NEWS

  • Shadowhunters season 2 teaser dropped and we get a premiere date. From what I’ve gathered, the TV show is going in a different direction to the books which I find disappointing but I guess I’m still interested. It looks better than season 1 but we’ll see.
  • The Fantastic Beasts trilogy is now becoming 5 films. 5 WHOLE instalments! i don’t know how I feel about that but I’m not going to judge until I see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  • Cover reveal for Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab (sequel to This Savage Song) and it matches and it’s beautiful so just LOOK!
  • #WeNeedDiverseBooks is launching an APP that will highlight diverse books. Is this not exciting?!? It’s scheduled to launch January 2017.
  • Another cover reveal, this time for Emery Lord’s The Names They Gave Us UK cover and I’m in love with it. I actually have read any of her books yet but I’m always up for a cover reveal.
  • Anne Shirley for the Netflix adaptation has been cast! This has just heightened my excitement for the series but I’m equally terrified because I LOVED the original adaptation.

LIFE UPDATE

As I have mentioned multiple times before, I’m in the middle of doing my exams. Then a super long break that will hopefully be filled with reading and blogging! This dodgy blogging will last for 1 more week tops and then all will be well. Basically October has been full-on studying, attempts of self-control in not picking up books (spoiler: not very effective) and regular intervals of procrastination.

Speaking of taking breaks, I managed to finish watching Gilmore Girls and although I don’t think the last season was strong, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed watching it for the first time. As a fan of banter and sass, I don’t know why this wasn’t in my life earlier but I’m super happy it is now and I’m enormously excited about the revival!

As I said, October hasn’t been particularly eventful for me and I’m a bit disappointed that I only got to read 3 books. The only thing that has kept me going is the prospect of reading as much as I want after these exams. But first I’m going to sleep for a week because I am currently deprived from EVERYTHING.

I’ve already mentioned this quote in my review of the book The Fall of Five but it HAS to be my quote of the month because it comes from my favourite character of the series, Six, and it just speaks to me…

“All this love triangle crap makes me want to barf.”

– The Fall of Five, Pittacus Lore (Six)

Have an awesome month of reading and good luck to all those participating in NaNoWriMo!!

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

What did you get up to in October? What fantastic books have you read? And if you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, what are you writing? Comment below!

9 thoughts on “October 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. Wow. I wish I could read 60 books in a year! I’m not reading anything right now because I am doing nanowrimo. And I can’t read when I’m writing cos things end up blurring between them if that makes sense. I already miss books and it’s only week one!

    Like

  2. Yes! Reaching reading goals early is always so satisfactory! Mine was 70 (and it still is on Goodreads even though I’ve surpassed that), so I’ve set myself another goal to have read 100 by the end of the year. I haven’t actually read (or really heard of) any of the books you mentioned though. The cover for Our Dark Duet is GORGEOUS! The UK cover for Emery Lord’s new book is so much prettier than the US one though… Anyways, I hope you have a great November, too! And good luck finishing your reading goal! :)

    Like

    • Omg well done on completing your reading goal. 70 is a lot (and I wish I could read 100 in a year)!! Yeah I’ve been trying to finish series and I kinda started these books a while back when I specifically sought out these type of storylines and my tastes have changed so my excitement has kind of died down. YES there are so many pretty covers and the UK cover for that one is definitely prettier :D Thanks Adalyn, and have an awesome November!!

      Like

  3. Best of luck for your exams Emily! You’ll have plenty of reading time once you’re done! Congrats on reaching 90% of your GR goal, that is amazing. I am always behind on mine lol. I’m excited for you to read Yellow, it’s such a fantastic book and the MC doesn’t feel too young at all.

    Like

Leave a reply

