Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Finally I’ve got my review up for Sweet Peril and I feel it’s not as long as some others are. This is a spoiler free review so read without worry about being spoiled! Also this is the second book of a series, but it doesn’t spoil the first book either unless you count me mentioning people that have obviously survived (not died) the first book. If you’re not worried, continue reading!!

15768191Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins

Series: The Sweet Trilogy (#2)
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Publication: April 30th 2013 by HarperTeen
Pages: 371
Source: Borrowed

2 stars

Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?


REVIEW

I don’t whether I’m just not that fond of paranormally centred books anymore because this book is so loved and I can’t relate. Maybe it’s the large role romance plays. I didn’t like a lot of the characters and there is so much pining (in the book) and eye rolling (that’s me). I was bored for the majority of the book and nothing really happened. I knew the stakes were higher but for me, the suspense was never there. To be fair, maybe there was a little at the end.

Everything felt brushed over and I wasn’t a fan of the division of chapters in seasons and the progression of time. I felt the story lacked continuity and it felt as though was reading the main highlights.

30 pages in, I was seriously questioning why I was even reading it (so close to marking it DNF which I hardly do). I liked that there was an exploration of different countries, but I felt there wasn’t an actual exploration of the culture and the world building just wasn’t present. It felt like the setting was just told or given a name but not actually shown which is a little disappointing. This is the inclusion of a couple of people of colour but I’m not too sure whether enough research was put into developing these characters.

EVERYONE is so angsty in this book and I don’t like how Anna is still seen as the “good and innocent girl” whilst everyone else is just lustful, corrupt and jealous (so much). Also she never gets the blame nor is punished for making stupid decisions. There is such a large time dedicated to Anna’s obsession with Kaidan and ugh. I don’t like their relationship – Anna’s drooling nor Kaidan’s possessive nature. The “lovesick” chasing around got a bit old after a while. Also why can’t people control their emotions?

Another thing about the characters: I felt like the characters lacked substance and I honestly don’t see their appeal to each other. Perhaps this was the intention of the author to demonstrate how the Nephilim are only seen as tools and are so accustomed to it, they act how they are desired and lack personal voice. Still if this was the intention, it still didn’t prevent me from disliking the story and having a entertaining reading experience.

The only character I loved was Patty. This was partially because of the last book. She worries but is encouraging, she understands her boundaries and emphasises with Anna and her situation. Just a good mother and friend. Any scenes with Patty got a smile on my face. Okay, the other characters weren’t that bad and I liked being introduced to the new Nephs and visiting some old ones but I wasn’t invested in them enough to care about what happened to them.

Characters I sort of liked:

  • Zania
  • Zopano
  • The Twins

This book had potential in my eyes following the last book and I can’t say what lacked in quality was made up in entertainment. Okay, it was a tad entertaining at times, whether it was supposed to be funny or I just couldn’t with the cringey scenes, so I laughed. Wow I seem very angry in this review. I assure you I’m not, just annoyed. Maybe this book is just suffering from second book syndrome. I’m not sure whether I’m going to continue with the series, but I already have the third book…

2 stars

Goodreads   Purchase *

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

Have you read this book? If you loved it, I genuinely interested why because I am too befuddled by my low rating in comparison to its high rating on Goodreads? And if you didn’t like this book, chat with me too because so far I have no one that agrees with me. Comment below!

* I am a Book Depository affiliate – for more details, you can read my Disclosure HERE.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins // Book Reviews

Leave a reply

