July 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

Helloooo

So I had a much better reading month in July in comparison to my *whispers* 2 books in June. I’ve had a less hectic month so more time for reading YAY!! I didn’t read all the books on my TBR, but I read an extra different book. Does that make sense? Onwards…

READ

Reading challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Currently I’m 80% done with my reading challenge this year. I’ve read 48 out of my goal of 60 books and I’m still ahead of schedule. 14 books ahead to be exact…
emma stone happy dance dance party boogie feeling itBUT 1 of the books I read in July was 50 pages hehe. I admit it. I’m cheating again.

Best book


4.5 stars
The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas
This was the last book I read in July and it was amazing. The worldbuilding was done so well and I loved meeting all these new characters from Celaena’s past *cough* SAM. I recommend reading this so much. It gave so much more depth into Celaena’s character and she really does have an interesting past. Yes it broke me. More details in my review HERE.

Worst book

17860199
1.5 stars
The World of Divergent: The Path to Allegiant by Veronica Roth
Ummm I wasn’t too impressed by this “book”. Mostly I thought is was useless because its contents were things that fans already knew from interviews and dictionaries, but it was free so… yay? I don’t even know how I came across this or why I chose to read it. It was too short to be called a waste of time XD REVIEW!!

Disappointment/surprise


3.5 stars
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Oh dear. I’ve got a disappointment for you last month. Maybe because it was compulsory reading and I tried reading it 1 day day before it was due. I really wanted to love. It sounds so awesome and intriguing but it got so tedious at times. Please don’t hate me. Frankenstein wasn’t the best narrator. Also probably my fault because I did not like him. Like at all. So it ended up being just okay for me. My REVIEW if you want to know more.

Other books

  • The Crown (The Selection, #5): 2.5 stars so I finished this book and ergo, The Selection series. Yes all the books and all the novellas. ALL. I won’t say I was the biggest fan of the series, but as many people say, it’s soooo addicting (and endgame MUST be known). I found it pretty easy to get through but it felt really rushed. The review of it can be found HERE.
  • Magic Study (Study, #2)4.5 stars I’m so glad I got back into this series (I don’t even know why I waited this long). I really enjoyed this sequel to Poison Study and the sass levels in this novel people. Them sass levels were on point. Very much recommended. REVIEWWW.
  • The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies, #3)3.5 stars I believe the last book of this series wrapped up in June so I’m about halfway through. Thumbs up? Ahhh I liked this book so much better than it’s prequel, The Power of Six. Much faster and much more exciting. Henceforth, I will continue. I know this is getting repetitive but REVIEW for you.

 :

HAUL

Books bought

Literally all of these are ebooks. Take the shop of the internet awaaaay from me.

  • Dangerous Girls: long time no thriller mysteries and I’ve heard nothing but greatness about this books so yeah. I got it.
  • Ivory and Bone (Ivory and Bone, #1):
  • This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1): monsters. Violence. Sign me up.
  • Every Breath (Every, #1):
  • P.S. I Like You: whaaaat? Emily’s got a contemporary? Correct (sometimes I need a little fluff in my life).
  • Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series, #1): and of course to balance that out, I need some creepiness. I’m not that interested as I was in dystopians anymore, but I’ve heard amazing things about this series, so I’m going to give it a go!!
  • Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1): I don’t know much about this books (or I can’t remember) but it’s about BOOKS!!!
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8**): IT’S HARRY POTTER PEOPLE (so capslock is justified, right?) I am so nervous yet excited to read this because I’m trying to lower my expectations in case it’s only meh… but I can’t. I will read it this month. If there’s 1 book I’m going to read this month, hell yeah it’s going to be Harry Potter. ** as advertised on Goodreads XD

Books borrowed

 :
 

THIS BEAST broke me.

 

Review copies/ARCs sent

None last month.
my little ponyIt’s probably for the best.

TBR

If you don’t know, I love organising so I present you the books I will attempt ( to finish) reading in the month of August.

BOOKISH NEWS

I have so much bookish news for you in the month of July if you haven’t heard already…

  • The title of book #2 of the Monsters of Verity Series by Victoria Schwab was announced and it’s… O_ _ D_ _ _ D _ _ _. Guess before you click on the link. I want to know the combinations that pop up in people’s minds. YAY for decoding!!! Hey I’m not that mean – I linked it.
  • Additional ACOTAR and Throne of Glass books are going to be published as in a lot more books. So it’s going to be a good decade or so for Sarah J. Maas readers. I don’t know the length of these books but you’ve seen her books so no matter – still going to be big books :D Now for the newly announced books…
  • Stephanie Meyer is releasing a book THIS year. Do you remember that majorly popular YA series that started a little more than 10 years ago called the Twilight Saga? Well, the author is releasing a new book and its going to be an adult novel. And it’s not a paranormal. It’s actually a thriller and you can find out more if you want in that above link. PS I’ve never actually read any Twilight books or any of her works, but I’m intrigued as to what is going to come out of this novel.
  • The last Divergent movie is cancelled? There’s talk about replacing the last instalment of this series, Ascendant into a television series INSTEAD of hitting the big screens in June 2017. Also plans to have spinoff series set in the same world. WHAT?!? Same here. Same.
  • Some casting announcements for the adaptation of YA book Everything, Everything by Nicole Yoon. I don’t know much but there’s the link if you’re interested.
  • And on some peculiar YET related news. Rights have been acquired and there will be a picture book biography published in 2017 about Eliiiizaa. Or the official name… Eliza: The Story of Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton. It wouldn’t be my post without incorporating Hamilton in some way. You know Phillipa Soo AKA the epitome of cinnamon rolls? She’s going to contribute to the foreword. Also Eliza is a cinnamon roll who deserves all the recognition in the world.
  • And some exciting new releases from July that I intend very much to read…
    • This Savage Song
    • Black
    • How to Hang a Witch
    • When Michael Met Mina
    • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

LIFE UPDATE

So I had my holidays early last month which was such a needed break. And what did I do? Read (of course) and catch up on all my TV. I am finally up to date with Supernatural (a massive effort) and Orphan Black (the season finale was amazing)! The only bad thing about this is that I have to wait until spring (U.S. fall) for new episodes. Oooh I started watching Gilmore Girls and I can’t stop. NO SPOILERS please! I probably have enough things to do, but any TV show recommendations to occupy my time? School’s still attempting to destroy me. Also I got spoiled on a book this month. I couldn’t verbally rage at anyone because: internet spoilers. Why is this still happening? Please people, put spoiler tags on the spoilers. Also I shouldn’t read that many reviews before I read a book. I’ve got end off with my favourite quote from a book I’ve read this month and it was a toughy. So many good lines in Magic Study and The Assassin’s Blade.

“You treat me like a delicate flower. I’ll have you know that the most delicate flowers often produce the strongest scent when crushed.”

– Magic Study, Maria V. Snyder (Perl)

Isn’t that beautiful? As I said, so many good quotes to choose from. Have a tremendous, bookish, August month!!

Emily x

DISCUSSION TIME

 Chat with me about your reading month for July. How many books *accidentally* entered your life through the power of purchasing? Any spectacular books that were read? And how excited are you about all the bookish news in July? Isn’t it great? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “July 2016 recap // Wrap Ups

  1. Yessss for Dangerous Girls! Hope you love that one. And lol, I hated Allegiant as well…just completely undermined the first two books. Also, I’m glad you had a good holiday :) The only TV show I watch at the moment is Game of Thrones so I’m not much help there, haha.

    Like

    • Haha yeah Allegiant… we don’t really talk about that ;) YES I wish I was back on holidays – much less responsibility. Game of Thrones probably takes up enough of your time anyway – that seems like an intense show! Thanks for commenting :D

      Like

Leave a reply

