Reading habits tag // Tags

Helloooo

New tag today and I’m going to be talking about my reading habits. The tag was originally made by TheBookJazz and you can find her video HERE. Now you get to read about some of my weird habits while I read.

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Usually any piece of furniture that is soft, YET has structure which normally means my bean bag or my bed (especially if I’m trying to finish a book or haven’t done any reading that day).

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Well, I actually used to. Wait for it… doggy-ear my pages to bookmark them. Nowww I bookmark. With a bookmark. I also have this weird thing where before I start any book, I choose a bookmark that matches the book I’m reading (like colours or themes – you get the picture). BUT that way I don’t have to find a bookmark in stressful situations because it’s already there. And now you can count the amount of times I said ‘bookmark’ :D

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
This is very dependent on the book I’m reading. Usually I allocate a number of pages I want to finish each day, but if I’m addicted to the book, I stop reading when someone takes the book off me OR until I can’t open my eyes anymore. In that case, I finish the chapter I’m on… or the one after that.

Maudit reading split leslie caron me too

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
Again this is very subjective depending on the book I’m reading and the condition of the book. If the book is really intense, I don’t have time to eat or drink at all because I’m probably hyperventilating and finishing the book is my number 1 priority. If the book isn’t in pristine condition, the likelihood that food might appear in my hand increases and so does having a drink (when it’s cold, I usually need my tea). Wow that was a way longer answer than needed and probably too specific.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I used to try but I would get too distracted and end up (a) staring at the screen for too long or (b) focus too much on the lyrics and skim the words and forget what I just read. So no I don’t listen to music or watch TV anymore while reading.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
Usually I like to have 1 ebook and 1 hardcopy book so I always have an accessible book ANYWHERE I am. However right now I’m reading 1 book at a time, because I’m probably going to get distracted and continue to start new books and avoid particular ones. I’m strange like that.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
If it were up to me, I would read EVERYWHERE but apparently it’s “rude” when people want to talk to you and you’re reading. What’s up with that? So mostly I read at home… and occasionally other places.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently. Always silently. I just can’t read out loud because it’s too slooooow for me.

shut up everybody quiet ashley tisdale shaddup

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
I actually used to be so bad at reading ahead. I used to look at the endings when I was bursting with anticipation BUT I don’t anymore – don’t kill me. Now I look ahead to see how many pages there are (without spoiling myself) and sometimes my eyes have a tendency to wonder ahead to the next page or down a couple of lines. The only time I will purposely read ahead or skip pages is if I’m in the middle of a cringe-worthy situation (for the characters). Basically whenever I have secondhand embarrassment with internal eeeep – you know those scenes. Oh another situation is when the chapters are soooo long and I flick to see how many more pages there are before the chapter ends. BUT I won’t actually skip pages.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I try to keep my book new but if I accidentally break the spine, I will be annoyed at myself for a bit and then move on. The “moving on” time varies depending on the attractiveness of the book.

11. Do you write in your books?
Usually I don’t. Only when I’m analysing a book for required reading, I might annotate it. I do tab my books though. Sometimes. If I’m not too lazy XD.

12. Who do you tag?
ANYONE who wants to do this!! I know this tag is pretty old but if you want to do it, just say that I tagged you.

So I hope you enjoyed the post today. I haven’t done a tag in a while so at least it was fun for me. Also it kind of allowed me to think about what I do while reading. And I do some strange things. Yes it should have been a shorter tag but of course, I extended a 1 sentence answer into many many more words than necessary. That’s all for today so have an awesome day!

Emily x

CHATTY TIME

Well I don’t think there’s anything much more to talk about but link me your reading habits tag posts or videos below so I can check them out. Or if you have some strange reading habits you want to share with me (I’ll keep your secrets). Comment below!

10 thoughts on “Reading habits tag // Tags

  1. Part of me hates dog earing. Yet part of me realizes I have done it before…and have actually been unable to find the pages I folded. (I guess I did it too small.) So maybe it doesn’t even damage the book as much as I fear.

    Like

    • I used to do that too and lost my page anyway. Though it was mostly to library books but hey, they’re still books. Yes some people need to calm down about what others do to their books. BUT bookmarks have a big part in my life now. Thanks for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to dogear pages too, but now I use random scraps of paper. I always lose any bookmarks I acquire and that’s that. I can’t read much if there’s too much noise at home, so I often read at work even though it’s noisy there too, I can somehow focus because it’s a work environment. :)

    Like

    • Awww I keep all my bookmarks in 1 place and pick out 1 when I start a book. I can’t concentrate around noise either but sometimes I can’t focus in complete silence so get what you mean :D

      Like

  3. Oh this is such a cool tag!! And I relate to a lot of these too!! heheh. I try to keep my books in pristine condition, which generally means not eating and reading. And I totally look ahead at page numbers XD But not to actually spoil myself. OH and what is it with people thinking it’s rude to read everywhere?? Like conversation vs reading = IT’S READING ALL THE WAY, PEOPLES. #priorities ;)

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • I glad you could relate with some of my book reading and handling :) YES it’s so exhausting trying to hold a conversation. Reading on the other hand… there’s already a mutual respect expect for when the story hits you in the feels outside. Trying to hold it in is a struggle. BUT I will still always choose reading #priorities :D

      Like

Leave a reply

