Book blog newbie tag // Tags

Helloooo

So I wanted to post another book review, but that’s kind of difficult if you haven’t finished any books lately… I think I’m in a reading slump – I’ve literally been trudging my way through a book that I have been reading for over 2 weeks *sighs*. Since I am very new to the book blogging community, I decided it was very fitting to do the book blog newbie tag. Originally it was a booktube newbie tag, but I believe the blog blog version was altered by Love and Other Bookish Things, so thank you! My first tag (obviously not tagged by anyone), and hopefully you’ll get to know me better!

1. Why did you start this blog?
Well, a while back I started really getting back into reading but my real life friends weren’t that interested with talking to me and getting excited over fictional characters and books so I turned towards the internet. What do you know? It’s filled with fandoms and people who are willing to fangirl with me and share our mutual feels (it was a very exciting time for me). I recently discovered booktube and I was really intrigued with the concept of having your own platform and talk all about book related things – I really didn’t realise how big the booktubing and blogging community was. But… I am extremely shy (and slightly terrified) in front of a camera – I don’t even have a profile picture with my face in it, so it wasn’t for me. Also I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so filming and editing could take days. Blogging on the other hand; no obligations to show my face and people won’t look at me weirdly when I obsess over fictional characters. Additionally, I love reading other book blogs, it looks so fun and I get to find and engage with all you awesome readers. I think we can call that a win!

2. What are some fun and unique things you can bring to book blogging?
[Taking 20 minutes to think of a response] Ummm I don’t really know. I’m hoping my authentic voice will emerge, and a unique one to share in the community. Also, I think you’ll thoroughly enjoy my excessive use of parenthesis *wink wink* (because obviously my unnecessary side commentary is hilarious).

3. What are you most excited for about this new blog?
I’m really excited to meet new friends who are equally enthusiastic about books and I can connect with because hey, we already love reading, right? I’m not the best writer either, whether that be fiction or analytical, so I’m actually really excited to see myself improve integrating into this community and I can look back to see my thoughts  recorded and how they change.

4. Why do you love reading?
Where to begin? I’m an introverted person and I love the individual activity that reading is. You don’t need to rely on other people to complete it *cough* group projects. I find it really comforting and I just genuinely enjoy the reading experience. I love the journeys you get to go through in books – the different plots, twists, CHARACTERS, the exploration of settings and worlds that sadly, you are unable to go in real life. They’re heart-warming, heart-wrenching, they make me cry, laugh, terrify me so I can’t go to sleep, so, so many emotions). They make me aware, to want to make change in the world. I could go on and on. All of that, through words on paper. It’s a pretty amazing deal if you ask me.

5. What book or series got you into reading?
I started thoroughly enjoying reading really young, but then priorities like starting high school caused me to read less and less (it was an awful time in my life, I know). When I started regularly reading and appreciate reading again, it was, like many people, due to The Hunger Games Trilogy – specifically the first book (look at me having a relevant blog post picture). I found myself reading the first book over and over again, I fell in love with the dystopian genre and ultimately my passion for reading grew again. This was during the time of the upcoming movie adaptation for the first book, and its hype was at the peak. Thank goodness for that, for I could be a very disoriented soul without that reminder.

6. What questions would you ask your favourite authors?
What goes on in your brain that produces this on paper? Subsequently, I think they would give me a peculiar look and be very confused. Don’t worry, I would never ask that question aloud, although I frequently repeat it when reading their books. I would probably ask about their writing process (I know, the standard question). I’m just really interested to know how authors make everything fit together and make sense in the end, yet mislead you throughout the whole book or series. I know each author is different, but I still can’t fully comprehend the brilliance that goes into creating stories (possibly because I’m lacking in the imagination department). Until then, I’ll just call it talent and magic.

7. What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome?
Consistency. I think it will be challenging for me to ensure I regularly posting and also reading enough books to support new and interesting content. Another thing related to that is I don’t want blogging to become a chore and feel like something I have to do and get really stressed out about it. This also means I don’t want reading to become a burden because I read for enjoyment and I want to continue to feel that way about reading. Also, I think it’s going to be difficult for me to share some of my thoughts and express myself because I am quite a sarcastic person and often what’s written can be interpreted differently and offend in real life. I probably should cut down on my witty sarcasm or state where sarcasm appears… (that was sarcasm – I assure you will get a full dose my satire).

8. When did you start reading?
As I said before I started reading when I was quite young and found it very entertaining. I can’t actually pinpoint the time, but the second time I started reading was about halfway through high school.

9. Where do you read?
Ideally, I like to read curled up on the sofa (or some other soft furniture) near a window – I just find natural lighting really nice and comforting when reading. But, a lot of the time conditions (and life) isn’t ideal so when I don’t have much time for reading, I like to read in my bed before I go to sleep. Sometimes I bring a book with me when I go out, but that doesn’t happen too often (people are so judgemental sometimes, or I’m just paranoid).

10. What kind of books do you read?
I am generally pretty open to any genres and I’m currently leaning towards young adult fiction. Within that, I am really into fantasy right now – just the worldbuilding, characters and all these new creatures ahhh. Basically YA fantasy authors are really slaying right now.

So those my responses to the newbie tag. It felt a bit like a ritual to become a fully fledged member of the book blogging community. Did I pass? Despite it being longer than it probably should be (maybe less rambling is one of my challenges I need to tackle on this blog), I hope you enjoyed learning about how I got into reading and my intentions for blogging. I’m really enjoying blogging right now so if you’ve been unsure whether to start one, do you want to talk about something your passionate about? If yes, I say give it a go. Have a jolly day!

Emily x

CHATTY TIME

I don’t think “discussion time” really fits in with this so chatty time it is. I don’t know many book bloggers at this time so I’m not tagging anyone in particular. However, if your a newbie to the book blogging community, feel free to say that I tagged you. IDEA! If you’ve recently started a book blog, link your tag or blog below so I can check them out- I would love to meet fellow newbies like me or even if you’re not new, I’m sure you have some wisdom to share. Comment below!

6 thoughts on “Book blog newbie tag // Tags

  1. Ohhh this is SUCH a fun tag!! (And it’s really nice to get to know you too :) ) And I 1000% agree with the ginormous awesomeness of YA fantasy authors. THEY ARE JUST GETTING MORE AND MORE AWESOME BY THE DAY. Also a big reason I started book blogging was because I know exactly zero people IRL who like books! hehe. So blogging is such a great outlet to find people to flail with, right?! LOVE IT. :D
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Yay, book bloggers unite!!! We have friends on the internet :) Yesss blogging is an AWESOME outlet to express all my feels about books ahhh.

      Like

  2. There is nothing wrong with a love of parentheses :P You’re right – YA authors really are slaying it at the moment.
    Welcome to blogging! It’s fantastic having an outlet to vent and gush and all those things volcanoes do over books. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

    Like

    • Haha enjoy for random side commentary (it’s inevitable). Yes although I’ve seen many storylines being recycled, there are also so many amazing and unique books by YA authors. Thanks for the welcome!!!

      Like

  3. Yay!!! The book community is so friendly & even though I started out on Booktube, people have been so welcoming on all the other social media platforms & I feel incredibly lucky to be part of such a supportive network :D I struggle so much with consistency too haha xD OMG YES, YA FANTASY ALL THE WAYYYY <3 <3 <3 Looking forward to all your future blog posts!

    Like

    • I know everyone in the book community is so welcoming and supportive – I can feel it already :D Woo hoo fantasy buddies *high five*!!! Thanks so much for your comment and reading my post!

      Like

Leave a reply

