The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I have a bit of a different review. In fact, I have a short, sweet review of a bind-up of novellas: The Bane Chronicles. It’s completely spoiler free, but it a couple of the stories will spoil you for The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series. So let’s jump straight in!

16303287The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Series: The Bane Chronicles (#1-11)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: November 11th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 507
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.


REVIEW

I think my different expectations for these stories ended up disappointing me a bit. Some of them were great, but it took me much too long to get through this bind-up. Overall, these were a bit of a hit or miss for me. Magnus is a super fun character and I was curious to learn more about his adventures and centuries old past. The humour was here and there, but it was a solid light-hearted read. If you’re a fan of Magnus Bane, this will be an entertaining read, but this isn’t a necessary read to understand the Shadowhunter Chronicles.

Read More »

Advertisements

Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

I’ve got a book review for y’all today! Book #5 of the Vampire Academy series AKA Spirit Bound. It’s completely spoiler free for this novel but there may be some spoilers for previous books in this series. I’d like to think that this is more on the shorter side in terms of my reviews so enjoy!

6479259Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead

Series: Vampire Academy (#5)
Genre: Paranormal
Publication: May 18th 2010 by Penguin Razorbill
Pages: 489
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s—and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.


PLOT

I enjoyed this instalment better than its predecessor. I found Dimitri’s storyline in the previous book really frustrating so I’m glad that situation has been resolved. I felt like some of the scenes were filler and made the story a bit directionless.

Read More »

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas // Book Reviews

Hey hey!

Today I’ve got a review for A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas because I haven’t posted one in a VERY long time. This review has a couple of spoilers about a couple of characters (Tamlin and Rhysand) but if you don’t care, keep reading! If you’re still weighing up whether you should read this novel but want to get a feel of the book, you should probably stop reading once you get to CHARACTERS. So, these are my thoughts!!

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#2)
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Publication: May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 624
Source: Borrowed
3.5 stars

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


GENERAL THOUGHTS

Great. More territorial fae.

I was rather disappointed with this sequel and I think a majority of this was because of my huge expectations and the massive amount of hype. I have very conflicting thoughts about this book and the characters.

Read More »